A digital library that includes streaming video of performances, playscripts, criticism, and performance practice from leading theatre publishers and companies in the following collections: Shakespeare’s Globe on Screen 1 and 2, National Theatre Collection 2, Royal Shakespeare Company Live, Stratford Festival Shakespeare Collection, Critical Studies and Performance Practice, Core Collection, Oberon Books, and Nick Hern Books Modern Plays.
Live video of the original productions of some of the most important theatre performances of the 20th century.
From the most important productions of Shakespeare to rare in-depth footage focusing on the work of Samuel Beckett, Theatre in Video, when complete, will offer more than 500 hours of online streaming video, available electronically for the first time. With live television broadcasts of New York productions from the 50s, revivals of classic works and experimental performances from the 60s and 70s, as well as important contemporary performances, Theatre in Video covers a wide range of 20th century theatre history. Unlike Hollywood adaptations, these are the actual original productions, captured and recorded while performed for a live theatre audience.
Brings together 400 hours of new, international, and contemporary performances; ground-breaking documentaries; and critical instructional series for theatre and drama programs across the globe.
Includes live performance and cinematic productions of plays from classical playwrights such as Shakespeare, Moliere, Voltaire, and Chekhov, while also incorporating new, contemporary writers such as Philip Kan Gotanda, Alexander Buzo, and William Yang. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.
Academic Video Online offers more than 66,000 titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, literature, music, theatre, and more.
Includes films from suppliers including California Newsreel, Green Planet Films, PBS, New Day Films, HBO Documentaries, First Run, FilmRise, and others. Faculty and Instructors: read Requesting a title in Kanopy before assigning a film to your class.
Excluded collections: Samuel Goldwyn Films (selected titles left open per instructions), Transmission, AVON and Breaking Glass. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. Includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism. Contains Contemporary Authors Online, Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, and more.
Includes: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 113,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 bio-critical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars; Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements and prizes.
Database covers a range of modern and historical views on authors and their works across regions, eras and genres. Contains Contemporary Literary Criticism, Nineteenth-Century Literature Criticism, Short Story Criticism, and Twentieth-Century Literary Criticism.
Covering world literature and authors throughout history, LitFinder contains a wealth of literary works including over 150,000 full-text poems and 800,000+ poetry citations, as well as short stories, speeches, and plays.
LitFinder also includes secondary materials like biographies, images, and more.
Full text for many of the most important academic sources in the humanities. Humanities Source provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more.
Humanities Source provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more. Includes full-text. Coverage: 1910 - present.
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
A database consisting of over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) based on the English Short Title Catalogue. It includes over 33 million full-text searchable images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Although primarily in English, the database also includes many items published in other European languages.
Includes over 33 million full-text searchable images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Although primarily in English, the database also includes many items published in other European languages.
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more for the long Nineteenth Century.
*Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
*Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
*British Politics and Society
*British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture
*Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
*European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
*Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
*19th Century US Newspapers
*Photography: The World through the Lens
*Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II
*Women: Transnational Networks
Provides extensive descriptions and holdings information for letterpress materials printed in Great Britain or any of its dependencies in any language - as well as for materials printed in English anywhere else in the world from 1473-1800.
Serves as a comprehensive bibliography of the hand-press era and as a census of surviving copies. Includes materials ranging from Shakespeare and Greek New Testaments to anonymous ballads, broadsides, songs, advertisements and other ephemera. Extensive indexing includes imprint word, place, genre, and year as well as copy-specific notes. Searches may be limited by date, language and country of publication.
Nearly 50 million records of any type of material cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century.
Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Materials also include books, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspaper titles, journal and magazine titles, sound recordings, videotapes, and more.
Covers over 11,000 journals in all fields of study.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources.
Includes full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; articles and data on businesses, corporations, industries and markets in the U.S. and abroad; magazines and trade journals; biographical information and special directories; legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Full-image online archive of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785-2019. Does not include the Sunday Times or TLS.
The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level. Users can easily search news articles, obituaries, advertising and classifieds - virtually everything that appeared in the newspaper. Results are displayed at the article level and users may view the article or the full page upon which it appeared.
International in scope, this database offers indexing and text for dissertations and thesis spanning from 1743 to the present day. Full text for some dissertations prior to 1997, full text for most works added since 1997.
With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.
Widely regarded as the accepted authority on the English language. It is an unsurpassed guide to the meaning, history, and pronunciation of 600,000 words— past and present—from across the English-speaking world.
Contains the complete text of the 20-volume Second Edition, first published in 1989, together with its 3-volume Additions Series, published in 1993 (volumes 1 and 2) and 1997 (volume 3).