Subject Guides

Philosophy

Guide Contents

Introduction

Use these subscription databases to find scholarly research and criticism (articles), as well as dissertations and theses.

Philosophy Databases

Annee Philologique
An exhaustive index of periodicals, books and festschriften in classics and classical studies. Coverage: 1969 - 2 years ago.

It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world.
Philosopher's Index with Full Text
Includes more than 500,000 records; more than 1,500 journal titles from over 450 different publishers. Content: all fields of philosophy. Coverage: 1940 to present.
Religion and Philosophy OneFile
Covers world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
Humanities Source Ultimate
Includes 2,000+ active indexed and abstracted journals (most are peer-reviewed). Subjects include philosophy and religion. Includes full-text. Coverage: 1910 - present.

Humanities Source provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more. Includes full-text. Coverage: 1910 - present.
Dissertations & Theses Global
International in scope; indexing and text for dissertations and theses from 1743 to present. Full text for some diss. prior to 1997, for most works added since 1997.

With more than 2 million entries, PQD&T is the single, central, authoritative resource for information about doctoral dissertations and master's theses.

Reputable Online Sources

PhilPapers: A comprehensive index and bibliography of philosophy. Monitors all sources of research content in philosophy, including journals, books, and open access archives. Hosts the largest open access archive in philosophy, PhilArchive.

PhilSci: An electronic archive specifically tailored to, and run by, philosophers of science.

Philosophy Paperboy: This website publishes the latest contents from philosophy journals around the world. Take it as a newspaper for philosophers. Check it daily so to never miss a paper!

UPDirectory

UPDirectory: Directory of philosophers from underrepresented groups in philosophy. Filter by philosopher, self identity, or Area of Specialization (AOS). To view someone's profile, including research interests, click View Details.

Supplemental Databases

JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.

JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Web of Science
Covers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports

Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.
WorldCat
Millions of records cataloged by libraries around the world.

Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Materials also include books, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspaper titles, journal and magazine titles, sound recordings, videotapes, and more.

Last Updated: Aug 11, 2025 12:45 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/philosophy
Print Page

Subjects: Philosophy

Tags: philosophy