Subject Guides
Health Statistics & Demographics
A guide providing more detailed information on where to find health statistics and demographic information for NYS and the Southern Tier region.
Also see:
International and Global Statistics and Data
- ICPSR (Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research) Data ArchiveProvides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction. For more information see Data Services for Social Sciences.
- DataFinderFrom the Population Reference Bureau. Has national and international data.
- WHO Health statistics and information systemsAccess to the Global Health Observatory (GHO), Global Health Estimates (GHE), and WHO Mortality Database from the World Health Organization.
- Universal Health Coverage Data PortalFrom the World Health Organization - supporting the Universal Health Coverage Coalition.
Data repositories and search engines
- DataCiteA non-profit organization that "provide the means to create, find, cite, connect, and use research."
- UK DataService"UK’s largest collection of social, economic and population data resources."
- Dryad"The Dryad Digital Repository is a curated resource that makes the data underlying scientific publications discoverable, freely reusable, and citable."
- ZenodoOpen Access data sets
- VivliA global clinical research data sharing platform
Census Data
The United States Census is the primary source for demographic and social data collection across the United States. In addition to conducting the Census every 10 years, the U.S. Census Bureau gathers data on a wide variety of topics that provides information on the nation's population and economy.
- data.census.govPrimary portal for U.S Census Bureau data on the nation's people and economy. Find data from the decennial census data, American Community Survey, Economic Census and more.
- Decennial Census of Population and HousingExplains the evolution of the decennial census.
- Economic Census5 year survey to provide a national snapshot of the economy, from the national to local level.
- County and city data bookProvides in compact form some of the more important and popular facts about counties and metropolitan areas. Print editions in Bartle Reference HA206 .S856
- Population changes: Southern Tier East Region, 1940-1990: Final Report. (Bartle Reference HA545 .P6 1991)
- Neighborhood Change Database
Provides selected variables from the 1970 - 2010 censuses at the nation, state, county, or census tract levels. Where available, normalized time-series data can be accessed in Census 2010 tract boundaries. CD-ROM located on Data Workstation in Government Documents Room.
State, Regional and Local Statistics
- County Health Rankings and Roadmaps (University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute)This online tool displays health measures for a specific U.S. county; compare data with other counties in the same state or similar counties in other states.
- Kaiser State Health FactsProvides a variety of statistical snapshots of each state by topic, such as Medicaid figures, heath costs and budgets, figures concerning women's health, and more.
- Census.govPrimary portal for U.S Census Bureau data on the nation's people and economy. Find data from the decennial census data, American Community Survey, Economic Census and more.
- Vital Statistics of New York StatePopulation, live births, fetal deaths, abortions, pregnancies, mortality, marriages and divorces, county profiles, city and village profiles. (Also available at Bartle Ref HA214 .V584)
- County Health Indicators by Priority Area (NYSDOH)An easy to read chart listing key health statistics.
- Community Health Indicator Reports (NYSDOH)Covers 300 health indicators by county.
- NYS Hospital ProfilesRanking and ratings of hospitals across NYS
- Broome County Community Health AssessmentBroome County Health Department's county wide health assessment, 2013-2017. Earlier editions are available in the UDC Library and Science Library (RA447.N7 C6)
- Pennsylvania Health Statistics (PDOH)Portal for all collected statistics and reports.
Federal Health-Related Statistics and Data
- HealthData.govAn assembled collection of data sources from 40+ health related agencies.
- Data WarehouseFrom the Health Resources & Services Administration of the US Dept. of Health & Human Services.
- Behavioral Risk Surveillance System (CDC)State-based system of health surveys that collects information on health risk behaviors, preventive health practices, and health care access primarily related to chronic disease and injury.
- Center for Disease ControlFor information about CDC publications, select Publications. For statistical information select Data & Statistics.
- ChildStats.govThe annual National Indicator of Child's Well-Being report, as well as extended tables and statistics.
- Current Population ReportsPublished on a periodic or irregular basis by the Census Bureau. Contain statistics on population counts, characteristic, and other special studies.
- Health, United StatesNational trends in health on topics ranging from mortality rates, risk factors, health care financing, etc.
- Healthy PeopleData compiled as an assessment for the 10-year goals set out in Health, United States.
- Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report (CDC)Weekly listing for cause of death in a 121 surveillance cities, notifiable disease count by nation and state, and summary articles.
- NLM Health StatisticsFrom the National Library of Medicine, another data focused guide linking to data sources, news, authoritative health organizations, journal articles, and more.
- Vital and Health Statistics SeriesContains information on diseases, demographics, health care utilization, health resources, mortality, marriage, and divorce gathered from the irregular National Health Interview Survey.
- Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB)The Hazardous Substances Data Bank (HSDB) is a toxicology database that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals. It provides information on human exposure, industrial hygiene, emergency handling procedures, environmental fate, regulatory requirements, nanomaterials, and related areas. The information in HSDB has been assessed by a Scientific Review Panel.
