Subject Guides
Mathematics Resources
Library links to math books, journals, and articles.
Search BU Mathematics Journals
Locate BU Mathematics Journals in FindIt!
1. For one journal:
Use the Journals Tab or Find It! search box on the Libraries' home web page.
2.For Math subject journals:
On the FindIt! Advanced Search page, select Subject contains Math. Select Journals for the Materials Type:
Mendeley Reference Management
Mendeley
Manage and format article information for bibliographies, footnotes, etc.
1. Create an account on Mendeley.
2. Download Mendeley Desktop
Allows you to store citations on your desktop.
3. Download Mendeley Citation Plug-in (if you can)
(Word, LibreOffice)
Allows you to insert citations into Word Documents.
4. Install the Mendeley Web Importer Chrome extension
Allows you to import articles and references.
More Help: Getting Started with Mendeley
Short video of features and ways to use Mendeley.
Search for Journal Articles and Books
- Google ScholarFinds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
zbMATH Open (formerly known as Zentralblatt MATH) is the world's most comprehensive and longest-running abstracting and reviewing service in pure and applied mathematics. Since January 2021, zbMATH Open has been available as an open access database.
Math Journal Publishers and Archives
- arXiv.orgPreprints in mathematics.
- Dissertations & Theses GlobalInternational in scope, this database offers indexing and text for dissertations and thesis spanning from 1743 to the present day. Full text for some dissertations prior to 1997, full text for most works added since 1997.
- Dissertations & Theses @ Binghamton UniversityFull text of all BU dissertations from 1997 to the present. Citations and abstracts of all BU dissertations published by UMI.
- ERAM - Electronic Research Archive for Mathematics (Jahrbuch Database)The database, last updated 2007, contains information on mathematical literature from 1868-1942 in the Jahrbuch über die Fortschritte der Mathematik, generated in the ERAM project (1998-2005) and funded by DFG.
- IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE and IET transactions, journals, and magazines, select conference proceedings, and current standards. IEEE content published since 1988, plus select content from multiple publishers dating back to 1872, is available. Includes IEEE Journal Archive (1884-1999) and IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive (1936-1999).
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
- ScienceDirectFull-text access to Elsevier journals subscribed to by SUNY institutions. To view journals choose "Browse Journals" under Licensed users.
