Subject Guides
PHYS 427 Library Resources
Library research information and Mendeley Citation Management links.
Guide Contents
Mendeley Reference Managemernt
Mendeley
Manage and format article information for bibliographies, footnotes, etc.
1. Create an account on Mendeley.
2. Download Mendeley Desktop
Allows you to store citations on your desktop.
3. Download Mendeley Citation Plug-in (if you can)
(Word, LibreOffice)
Allows you to insert citations into Word Documents.
4. Install the Mendeley Web Importer Chrome extension
Allows you to import articles and references.
More Help: Getting Started with Mendeley
Short video of features and ways to use Mendeley.
Places to search for Journal Articles and Article Citations
This list includes different tools to help you locate information in physics.
There is one encyclopedia source: AccessScience
There are journal article databases to look for Physics and Materials Science research information:
Web of Science and arXiv.org
There are two tools to search for journal article citations:
Web of Science and Google Scholar
- AccessScience (Encyclopedia of Science and Technology)Online version of online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Includes research updates from the McGraw-Hill Yearbooks, thousands of illustrations, and the latest Science News® headlines, biographies, and more.
- arXiv.orgarXiv is an e-print service in the fields of physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, quantitative biology and statistics.
- Engineering Village (Compendex)A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database referencing engineering journals and conference materials. Coverage: 1884-present.
- Google ScholarFinds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.
- Royal Society of Chemistry Journals (1841-Current)Provides full text of journals from the Royal Society of Chemistry, including the RSC Journal Archive for select titles (1841-2007)
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Learning about Physics on the web
There are lots of physics classroom lectures, problem sets and exams on the web:
Khan Academy has many introductory lecture videos. Note that problem set solutions may be locked.
https://www.khanacademy.org/science/physics
CrashCourse has videos on Physics course topics.
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL8dPuuaLjXtN0ge7yDk_UA0ldZJdhwkoV
MIT OpenCourseWare has lectures, problem sets and exams online.
https://ocw.mit.edu/courses/find-by-topic/#cat=science&subcat=physics
UCI Open has lectures, problems and solutions in individual lectures.
https://www.youtube.com/user/UCIrvineOCW
