Searching for articles using Find it! has lots of benefits:
Allows for searching across journals and other materials arranged around related subjects and themes.
Quickly search for items by subject headings or descriptors to allow for more targeted results.
Advanced search screens allow for combining multiple search terms using AND, OR, and NOT for better results
Can often combine databases to allow keyword searching across more than one discipline
When articles are not available full-text in the database, use to see if the article is available full-text in print or in another database
If the full-text is not available, use to submit an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) request for the article so we can get it for you from another library
Searching for Books in Find It!
When you search in Find It!, you're searching in the Library Catalog, Local Digital Collections (Special Collections' Digital Materials and Binghamton University-created materials), and a mega-index of scholarly e-resources including articles, book reviews, ebooks, and more. You can refine your search with the limiters on the left side of the search results page. These include such limiters as date ranges, location, subject headings, and languages.
To search for books in Find It!, follow these steps:
On the Libraries’ website, click Advanced Search on the Find It! tab.
Full-text access to all articles published in ACM magazines and journals and some ACM conference proceedings.
The ACM Digital Library, accessed through the ACM Portal, is a collection of both current and retrospective electronic publications of the ACM. Publications included are ACM journals, transactions and magazines, newsletters of ACM Special Interest Groups (SIGs), and proceedings of ACM sponsored conferences. Coverage: varies by title, earliest is 1985.
A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database referencing engineering journals and conference materials. Coverage: 1884-present.
Coverage includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, renewable energy sources, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more.
Contains more than 2,183,500 records from more than 1,900 domestic and international titles going back to the 1940s (including over 1,100 active core titles) as well as more than 130 monographs. The database also contains full text for more than 750 journals.
Guide to literature of the world about geology and earth sciences. Topics include crystallography, hydrogeology, economic geology, hydrology, environmental geology, marine geology, engineering geology, mineralogy, geochemistry, oceanography, geophysics, and paleontology.
Contains references to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports, and theses.
Finds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.
Provides full-text access to IEEE and IET transactions, journals, and magazines, select conference proceedings, and current standards. IEEE content published since 1988, plus select content from multiple publishers dating back to 1872, is available. Includes IEEE Journal Archive (1884-1999) and IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive (1936-1999).
Electrical and computer engineering are the primary focus, with a broad range of other topics, including manufacturing, biomedical engineering, and education, also being addressed.
Covers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.