Subject Guides
Urban Geography
Guide Contents
New York State Data
In addition to American FactFinder and local area links, consult the following for data specific to NYS:
Cornell Program on Applied Demographics
NYS Statistical Yearbook (check catalog for earlier print)
U.S. Census Data
- Social ExplorerProvides access to US decennial census data from 1790 to 2010, American Community Survey data and selected business, economic, crime, health, environmental and religious data. It does not include data for all census geographies, particularly for earlier decennial censuses. Users can customize, save, print, export and email reports and maps
-
U.S. Census Bureau | Subjects A-Z C
The United States Census is the primary source for demographic and social data collection across the United States. In addition to conducting the Census every 10 years, the U.S. Census Bureau gathers data on a wide variety of topics that provides information on the nation's population and economy.
- Economic Census: 5 year survey provides snapshot of the economy from the national to local level.
-
Neighborhood Change Database (CD-ROM located on Data Workstation in Government Documents Room)
Provides selected variables from 1970 - 2010 decennial censuses at the nation, state, county, or census tract levels. Where available, normalized time-series data can be accessed in Census 2010 tract boundaries.
Small Area Data
County and City Data Book (Also in Bartle Reference, HA206 .S865, 1952 - )
Provides in-depth data sets for areas of 100,000 people or more.
Federal, State, & Local Governments
Regional Data, Bureua of Economic Analysis
Statistics detailing the geographic distribution of U.S. economic activity and growth for state and local area economies.
Small Area Income and Poverty Estimates
Estimates for selected statistics on poverty and income for states, counties, and school districts.
State of the Cities Data System
SOCDS provides data for individual Metropolitan Areas, Central Cities, and Suburbs.
International Data
-
Major Cities & Agglomerations
Statistics and maps about the population of the major agglomerations of the world. See explanations about the data. -
International Databases
Data bank containing statistical tables of demographic and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world. -
Population Reference Bureau
Information on U.S. and international population trends. Their publications include the World Population Data Sheet, which includes key indicators from geographic areas of populations of 150,000 or more. -
Population Statistics: Historical Demography
Historical, demographic and statistical overview of the population of all the countries in the world, their administrative divisions and their important cities. -
Statistics Canada
Official government web site for Canadian statistical information.
- World Development IndicatorsContains statistical data for over 800 development indicators and time series data from 1960 for over 220 countries and country groups. Data includes social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators. See the Data Manual for information on what is covered.
