Subject Guides

Rare Books and Manuscripts

Guide Contents

Early English Books Online (EEBO)
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online
Digital versions of more than 180,000 full-text books based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
Includes over 33 million full-text searchable images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Although primarily in English, the database also includes many items published in other European languages.

Biodiversity Heritage Library
The Biodiversity Heritage Library (BHL) is the world’s largest open access digital library for biodiversity literature and archives, providing free access to hundreds of thousands of volumes, comprising over 60 million pages, from the 15th to the 21st centuries.
Internet Archive: eBooks and Texts
More than 40 million digitized texts. Most openly available, others accessible for hourly loan with a free account.
Morgan Library Medieval & Renaissance Manuscripts
Hundreds of digitized manuscripts from the collections of the Morgan Library.
Folger Shakespeare Library Digital Collections
Digitized books and manuscripts from the collections of the Folger Shakespeare Library.