Subject Guides
Women, Gender and Sexuality Studies
Guide Contents
Edward A. Poucher (1882–1966). The Woman’s Hour Has Struck: Woman Suffrage is Coming. Reproduced on the cover of The World Magazine, February 4, 1917. Breckinridge Family Papers, Manuscript Division, Library of Congress (089.00.00)
Create a plan
Time management plays an important part in most successful projects - including research assignments. They tend to go much easier if you give yourself a plan and schedule it out.
- Library TutorialsScreencasts and tutorials on how to use databases and do library research.
Finding Biographical Information
- Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Year in Review, World Atlas and an Internet Guide.
- American Memory Collection: Moving Images Research CenterSeveral hundred early motion pictures covering the earliest part of American history, including moving images from Edison's library.
- Proquest History Vault
Documents that cover the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, Women's Studies and Rights, American Politics (1960-1975), and the Vietnam War. All with a U.S. focus.
Featured Resources
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
The collection currently includes 145 document projects and document archives with 6700 documents and more than 200,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 3000 primary authors. The database also contains numerous collections of primary sources, including the Writings of Black Women Suffragists and Publications of State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women.
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History OnlineMonographs, journals, and pamphlets reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights up through the mid-twentieth century. Coverage: 1543-1945.
Newspapers
- New York Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Includes archival material from 21 newspapers covering New York State, including Binghamton, Elmira, Ithaca, New York, Rochester, and Rockland. Coverage begins in the late 1800s-early 1900s, depending on the publication. Recent coverage for the titles can be found using our Journal Title search.
- (London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019
Full-image online archive of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785-2019. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable collection of founding newspapers, documenting America's past. The Libraries subscribes to Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nations and Early American Newspapers Series 10: Regional Pioneers.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- New York State Library - NewspapersInformation on print and microfilm newspapers held in the New York State Library, searchable by city, county and title. Also, digital newspapers available via New York State Library databases.
Additional Resources
- Ancestry.comAn online family history resource. A paid subscription is required, but also offers a limited free trial.
- Google BooksWorks just like web search. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given Google permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.
- Newspapers.com5500+ newpapers from the 1700s-2000s. Not free, but browsable - consider a 7 day trial if you see some evidence of your suffragist.
- FamilySearchFamilySearch, historically known as the Genealogical Society of Utah, which was founded in 1894, is dedicated to preserving historical and genealogical records and helping people connect with their ancestors through easy access to historical records.
