Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Subject Guides
- Judaic Studies
- Encyclopedias and Reference
Judaic Studies
Resources for Judaic Studies.
Guide Contents
E-Reference Databases
E-Book Encyclopedias
- Encyclopedia of Jews in the Islamic WorldCovers Jewish history, religion and culture in Muslim lands, covering the seventh century to the present, particularly in the late medieval, early modern and modern periods.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica
This link opens in a new window
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures
Print Encyclopedias and Reference Books
The New Encyclopedia of Judaism
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- BM50 .E63 2002
The Oxford Dictionary of the Jewish Religion
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- BM50 .O94 1997
The Jewish Religion : A companion
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- BM50 .J28 1995
Encyclopedia of Modern Jewish Culture
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- DS102.8 .B46 2005
The Encyclopedia of Jewish Life Before and During the Holocaust
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- DS135.E8 E45 2001
Jewish-American History and Culture: an Encyclopedia
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- E184.J5 J48 1992
Antisemitism: a Historical Encyclopedia of Prejudice and Persecution
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- DS146.E8 A58 2005
Encyclopedia of Jewish History Events and Eras of the Jewish People
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- DS114 .E53 1986
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- D804.25 .H65 2001
The United States Holocaust Memorial Museum Encyclopedia of Camps and Ghettos, 1933-1945.
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- D805.A2 U55 2009
Atlas of Modern Jewish History
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference (Atlases) -- G1030 .F6513 1990
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks, Oversize (*) -- DS117 .D4 1984
The Cambridge Guide to Jewish History, Religion, and Culture
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- BM155.3 .C25 2010
Back to the Sources: Reading the Classic Jewish Texts
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- BM496.5 .B33 1984
Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora Origins, Experiences, and Culture
Call Number: Electronic Books -- DS115 .E47 2009eb
Medieval Jewish Civilization: an Encyclopedia
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- DS124 .M386 2003
Encyclopedia of American Jewish History
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- E184.J5 E48 2008
Jewish Women in America: an Historical Encyclopedia
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- DS115.2 .J49 1997
Jewish Writers of the Twentieth Century
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- PN842 .J48 2003
