Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Open Educational Resources (OER)

This guide provides details about how the open access movement is impacting academic education and how to find appropriate low cost or zero cost materials for academic courses.

 

More and more textbook authors are opting to share their textbooks open platforms. Use these links to browse through some of the major open textbook repositories or use MERLOT's ISBN search to find comparable open textbooks.

 

SUNY OER Services

*Image source: SUNY OER Services

Connect to Catalog

SUNY OER Services (SOS) operates as part of SUNY’s Office of Library and Information Services. SOS works directly with  SUNY campuses and faculty to provide assistance and knowledge to support the adoption of open educational resources (OER) and sustained use of OER as drivers of faculty choice and student success.

This includes offering a ready-to-adopt course catalog, facilitating the seamless integration of openly-licensed content into learning management systems, the remixing of openly-licensed content from various sources, the offline (print) production of learning materials, as well as the services and resources of our partners.

 

Merlot icon

*image source: MERLOTx

Connect to Textbooks

The MERLOT system provides access to curated online learning and support materials and content creation tools, led by an international community of educators, learners, and researchers.

 

Image by Milne Open Textbooks

Connect to Textbooks

Milne Library Publishing at SUNY Geneseo manages and maintains Milne Open Textbooks, a catalog of open textbooks authored and peer-reviewed by SUNY faculty and staff.

64ink logo

Image by SUNY Press

Connect to Textbooks

An imprint of SUNY Press, 64 ink™ showcases the work of faculty from across SUNY, the largest comprehensive system of higher education in the United States.

Print Copies
Print copies can be ordered directly from the SUNY Press website and from other online retailers.

Premium Digital Access
64 ink titles are available on RedShelf, where students have access to RedShelf’s premium eBook services (highlighting, note-taking, etc.) along with offline digital access through the RedShelf app. To find a book on RedShelf, enter the ISBN in the search box.

Image by Open Stax College

Connect to Textbooks

Peer-reviewed. Openly licensed. 100% free. And backed by additional learning resources.

image by Open Textbook Library

Connect to Textbooks

Open textbooks are textbooks that have been funded, published, and licensed to be freely used, adapted, and distributed. These books have been reviewed by faculty from a variety of colleges and universities to assess their quality. 

InTechOpen

Image by InTechOpen

 

Connect to Textbooks

The world's leading publisher of Open Access books. Built by scientists, for scientists

Connect to Textbooks

This directory provides an index of 2259 books published across 95 Pressbooks networks. Many, but not all, of these texts, are CC-licensed. You can filter the search to include only CC-licensed content. 

Image by BC Campus

Connect to Textbooks

The BCcampus Open Education OER by Discipline Directory lists a wide range of open educational resources organized by discipline. This directory is updated as new resources are identified. Note that textbooks in the B.C. Open Textbook Collection are not included in this directory.

Also see LOCATE OER