Subject Guides
HIST 480Q/531D: Civil War Medicine
Guide Contents
Reference/Tertiary Sources
- Oxford Research Encyclopedia of American HistoryAn online, digital research encyclopedia that ultimately covers the entire sweep of American history. Essays are based on the latest, most persuasive research and incorporate visual and sound materials and links to original sources.
Subject Librarian
Find It! and Secondary Source Materials
- Find It!Libraries' one-stop search tool for books, journals, articles, videos, sound recordings, digital images and more.
Find It! includes results from JSTOR, Academic Search Ultimate, Project Muse, and more. It may be more efficient to search in Find It!, but you can also search directly in those databases if you feel more comfortable or prefer some of their advanced search features.
- America: History & Life with Full TextLiterature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
- Exploring Race in SocietyContains context and solution-orientation point of view materials such as essays, journals articles, and government reports on topics related to race, inclusiveness, ethnicity and diversity.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
Primary Sources
- Civil War Collections in our Special CollectionsSpecial Collections houses numerous collections relating to the American Civil War, 1861-1865. Primarily consisting of letters and diaries, some of the collections also include photographs, postal covers, account books, and other ephemera. The letters are generally written from soldiers at the front or in military hospitals to family members at home in upstate New York. Regiments represented include the 14th United States Infantry; 27th, 85th, 104th, 109th, 121st, 129th, 153rd, 168th, 179th and 182nd New York Infantry; 3rd New York Cavalry; 1st New York Cavalry (Veteran); 50th New York Engineers; 8th New York Heavy Artillery; and the 69th New York Volunteer Artillery. Other writers served in the U.S. Military Telegraph Service or in medical practice at military hospitals. Material from several of the collections has been digitized and is available via New York Heritage Digital Collections.
- American Civil War: Letters and DiariesThis collection contains 2,009 authors and approximately 100,000 pages of diaries, letters and memoirs, including 4,000 pages of previously unpublished manuscripts such as the letters of Amos Wood and his wife and the diary of Maryland Planter William Claytor. Also includes biographies, an extensive bibliography of the sources in the database, and material licensed from The Civil War Day-by-Day by E.B. Long.
- Civil War Primary Source DocumentsArchive of unique manuscripts chronicling the American Civil War as it was experienced. Providing both Northern and Southern perspectives, it covers all aspects of the war, including reactions and impressions from the home front.
- Harpweek: The Civil War Era (1857-1865)Full-text database of Harper's Weekly, an illustrated American publication, provides scanned images of pages and includes indexes to subjects, illustrations, literature & publishing, and advertising.
- Civil War Collections at the Library of CongressMany primary source materials from the Library of Congress that focus on the U.S. Civil War. Use the filters on the left to refine the list by material type/format, creation date, location, subject, and more.
- Documenting the American SouthTexts, audio clips, and images that focus on the African-American experience in the South, with particular attention given to North Carolina. Great online source for primary documents.
- Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New YorkGateway to North America consists of unique content from the NY Historical Society, including more than 800,000 pages from over 1,500 incredibly diverse sources, including names and physical descriptions of American Civil War deserters and incarcerated.
- Proquest History Vault
Documents that cover the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, Women's Studies and Rights, American Politics (1960-1975), and the Vietnam War. All with a U.S. focus.
- AM ExplorerMillions of pages of primary source collections. The collections "Medical Services and Warfare", "Popular Medicine in America, 1800-1900", and "American History, 1493-1945" are particularly relevant to the U.S. Civil War.
- American Antiquarian Society Historical Periodicals, 1691-1877Providing digital access to the most comprehensive collection of American periodicals published between 1691 and 1877.
- ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1Provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to 1893. Vital for scholars seeking to understand religious thought and practice.
- Sabin Americana: History of the Americas 1500-1926Covers more than 400 years and 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies. The collection includes sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, highlighting the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of occurring 1500-1926.
- American Periodicals Series Online, 1740-1940Includes special interest and general magazines, literary and professional journals, children's and women's magazines, and others of historical interest.
- Nineteenth Century Collections Online
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
- Gateway to North America: People, Places, and Organizations of 19th-Century New YorkGateway to North America consists of unique content from the NY Historical Society, including more than 800,000 pages from over 1,500 incredibly diverse sources.
- Making of America (Michigan)A digital library of full-text books and journal articles in American social history published in the 19th century. Includes subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology.
- North American Immigrant Diaries, Letters and Oral HistoriesLetters, diaries and transcripts of oral histories that provide an unique view of immigration to the United States and Canada between 1800-1950.
- Proquest History Vault
Documents that cover the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, Women's Studies and Rights, American Politics (1960-1975), and the Vietnam War. All with a U.S. focus.
- Archives UnboundIncludes dozens of rare primary source documents organized by topic/ focus which span European colonialism, 1960s social movements, womens' rights, African-American civil rights, the Holocaust, and the Tiananmen Square protest.
- Ancestry Library EditionGenealogy research tool that includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. Note: This edition does not have all the features of the regular edition. See the article for information.
- U.S. ProQuest Historical NewspapersThe complete content of the Boston Globe,1872 start date; Chicago Defender, 1909-1975; Chicago Tribune, 1849 start date; New York Amsterdam News, 1922-2010; New York Collection (multiple titles); New York Herald/Tribune, 1924 start date; New York Times, 1851 start date; Los Angeles Times, 1881 start date; Philadelphia Inquirer/Public Ledger, 1860 start date; Wall Street Journal, 1889 start date; Washington Post, 1877-start date.
- America's Historical Newspapers
Fully searchable collection of founding newspapers, documenting America's past. The Libraries subscribes to Early American Newspapers Series 1: From Colonies to Nations and Early American Newspapers Series 10: Regional Pioneers.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
Provides a window on events, culture, and daily life in nineteenth-century America that is of interest to both professional and general researchers. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy.
- Nexis Uni
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources. If a sign-in button appears, click the button for access.
- National Archives: African American HeritageIncludes archive materials that are Pre-Civil War, military records, and Post-Civil War materials related to African American heritage
- African American Historical Serials CollectionThis collection documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.
- Slavery & Abolition in the US: Selected Publications of the 1800sDigital collection of books and pamphlets about slavery in the United States from the 19th century.
- Black Studies CenterHistorical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. Materials includes newspapers, dissertations, abolitionist papers, and oral interviews.
- Slavery & Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive
Collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
- SlaveVoyagesRecords of 27,233 slave ship voyages made between 1595 and 1866. Allows information tracking by time period and geographic region. Interactive maps allow viewers to chart trans-Atlantic connections. Includes materials about people on board, owners and captains, ships' characteristics, and the geographic trajectory of each voyage.
- Proquest History Vault
Documents that cover the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, Women's Studies and Rights, American Politics (1960-1975), and the Vietnam War. All with a U.S. focus.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 1 This link opens in a new windowAn archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
- Arte Público Hispanic Historical Collection: Series 2An archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English
- Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980
The single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers.
- Nexis Uni
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources. If a sign-in button appears, click the button for access.
- Proquest History Vault
Documents that cover the Civil Rights and Black Freedom Struggle. Southern Life, Slavery and the Civil War, Women's Studies and Rights, American Politics (1960-1975), and the Vietnam War. All with a U.S. focus.
- Gerritsen Collection - Women's History OnlineMonographs, journals, and pamphlets reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights up through the mid-twentieth century. Coverage: 1543-1945.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000
The collection currently includes 145 document projects and document archives with 6700 documents and more than 200,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by 3000 primary authors. The database also contains numerous collections of primary sources, including the Writings of Black Women Suffragists and Publications of State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women.
- Discovering American Women's History OnlineThis database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
- Women and Social Movements in Modern Empires Since 182075,000 pages of documents pertaining to women in the global history of empires and post-colonial societies since 1820.
- Archives of Sexuality & Gender: LGBTQ History and CulturePrimary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century,you can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
- Social ExplorerProvides access to US decennial census data from 1790 to 2010, American Community Survey data and selected business, economic, crime, health, environmental and religious data. It does not include data for all census geographies, particularly for earlier decennial censuses. Users can customize, save, print, export and email reports and maps
- Historical Statistics of the United StatesIncludes over 12,500 time series and all descriptive text. Contains the complete Historical Statistics of the United States, 1975. Standard source for quantitative data of American history starting in Colonial times
