Subject Guides
Neuroscience
Subject Librarian
InterLibrary Loan
InterLibrary Loan : BU doesn't own it? No problem, we'll get it for you! Books and articles can be obtained via BU Libraries' automated InterLibrary Loan Service (ILL)! Click here for more information and to begin requesting items!
Quick Links for Database Searching
Below are a few links to webinars and tutorials on how to search in databases:
Suggested Databases
Below are a list of databases that all contain content relevant to research in neuroscience. For tips on how to begin your database searching, visit the "Database Search Tips" page here.
-
PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
-
PsycINFO (APA)Covers general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology. Coverage: 1887-current.
-
Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
-
MEDLINE with Full TextFull text of authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
-
APA PsycTESTSDatabase of psychological tests, measures, scales, surveys, and other assessment tools. Contains a wide range of test types, including test batteries, questionnaires, rating scales, surveys, along with descriptive information about each test, such as how they were developed and administered.
-
Annual ReviewsThese summarize the current state of research on a subject by organizing, synthesizing, and critically evaluating the relevant literature.
-
PsycARTICLES (APA)
Full-text articles in general and specialized psychology from over 100 peer-reviewed journals. Coverage: 1988 - present.
-
DSM Library
Provides access to the DSM V and the Text Revision edition, plus all older editions of the DSM. Also provides the full text of the Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, Clinical Cases, Handbook on the Cultural Formulation Interview and the American Psychiatric Association Practice Guidelines.
Supplementary Databases & Resources
-
JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) Research UnlimitedJoVE provides videos of laboratory methods and science experiments across areas such as Behavior, Biochemistry, Bioengineering, Biology, Chemistry & Infection, Medicine and Neuroscience.
-
Health and Medicine OneFIle
Access to articles on: fitness, pregnancy, medicine, nutrition, diseases, public health, occupational health and safety, alcohol and drug abuse, HMOs, prescription drugs, etc.
-
Psychology & Behavioral Sciences CollectionCovers topics in emotional and behavioral characteristics, psychiatry, psychology, mental processes, anthropology, and observational and experimental methods.
-
Cochrane LibraryContains evidence-based articles, reviews, protocols, clinical trials, technology assessments, and economic evaluations.
-
SAGE Research Methods Books and Reference
Hundreds of titles provide a quick definition of methods to comprehensive exploration of concepts and methods.
Journal Resources
-
Neuroscience Journals in BrowzineBrowse through dozens of neuroscience journals available through Binghamton University Libraries.
-
Journal Citation Reports (JCR)
Browse by journal or subject area to find relevant, reputable journals for potential publication of your research using Manuscript matcher.
-
Ulrichsweb.comUlrichsweb.com has bibliographic and publisher information for more than 300,000 periodicals including academic and scholarly journals, Open Access publications, popular magazines, newspapers, and newsletters.
