Subject Guides
HIST 481Q/GERM 481C Reformation Religion and Society
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Online Text & Manuscript Websites
- Digitized Medieval Manuscripts MapsDigitized Medieval Manuscripts (DMMapp) is a database that links to hundreds of repositories across the world that contain freely available digitized medieval manuscripts. The data collected by the DMMapp is crowdsourced and updated constantly.
- Internet Medieval Sourcebook (FordhamUniversity)The Internet Medieval Sourcebook includes literary and legal texts, saints' lives, and maps.
- Manuscripts Online: Written Culture 1000-1500Manuscripts Online enables you to search a diverse body of online primary resources relating to written and early printed culture in Britain during the period 1000 to 1500. The resources include literary manuscripts, historical documents and early printed books which are located on websites owned by libraries, archives, universities and publishers.
- Project GutenbergAn archive of public domain books available in a variety of formats including plain text, PDF, HTML and EPUB. Books can be searched by author or title. An RSS feed is available for tracking site additions. An online and offline catalog is included.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineOver 180,000 full-text books based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
- Global Medieval Sourcebook (Stanford Univ)The GMS spans one thousand years (600-1600) of literary production across the medieval world (Europe, North Africa, the Middle East, and Asia). It contains primarily short texts of broad interdisciplinary interest in a variety of genres, and many of the texts have not previously been translated into English.
- Parker Library On the WebDigitized manuscripts in the Parker Library at Corpus Christi College, Cambridge
- Bibliotheca Palatina – Digital (Universitâts-Bibliothek HeidelbergOne of the consequences of the Thirty Years' War was that the most important collection of books in the 17th century Holy Roman Empire, the Bibliotheca Palatina, was divided between two principal locations: Heidelberg and the Vatican. Since 2001, Heidelberg University Library has been working on several projects that aim to digitize parts of this great collection, the final goal being a complete virtual reconstruction of the 'mother of all libraries'.
- Christian Classics Ethereal LibraryThe Christian Classics Ethereal Library is a digital library of hundreds of classic Christian books selected for edification and education. The online www.ccel.org server reaches several million different users each year.
- Post-Reformation Digital LibraryThe Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.
Web Portals for Medieval Studies
-
Voice of the Shuttle Webpage for Humanities Research page (Univ of Calif Santa Barbara). An excellent compilation of academic websites for all humanities subjects. Although there is not a separate Medieval or Early Modern studies page, searching these terms in the VoS search box will return a list of links across the humanities devoted to these time periods.
-
The Labyrinth (Georgetown University) provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne's thread through the maze of information on the Web.
-
WWW-Virtual Library History page is a collection of links to academic websites for History. Subcategories include: History by Continent/Country and History by Eras and Epochs.
