Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Speech & Hearing

Journals through the Libraries

 

 

You can see many of the journals the Libraries subscribe to at https://browzine.com/libraries/190/subjects

Searching For Articles

When looking for articles on a topic, your best bet is a relevant database. Using relevant databases allows you take more control of your search and automatically focuses your search on a general topic such as health. See the home page of this guide for some examples of relevant databases. General databases, such as Academic Search Ultimate, don't automatically focus your search on a topic but still provide you with more control over your search. These databases also facilitate finding the full-text of articles (see the Finding FullText page of this guide for more information).  

The Tutorials page of this guide has a variety of tutorials to help you navigate the databases. 

While database searching is usually recommended, you can also find articles by searching the Libraries' main search at  https://www.binghamton.edu/libraries/.

Searching For Journals

If you are looking for a specific article, you can search the Libraries' homepage, databases, and/or Google Scholar. (Make sure to link GS to the Libraries! See the front page of this guide for more info.)

If you are looking for articles on a topic your best bet is a relevant database (see the front page of this guide) or sometimes the Libraries' main search box.

If you are looking for a journal, you can search for journals directly from the Libraries' homepage. However, it can be a bit easier to find the journal you want by first clicking on "Journals."

Screenshot of Libraries' homepage search box indicating where to click to search specifically for journals.

After you search you can click on the title of the journal you are interested in to find more information. Sometimes you can click on "Available Online" to go directly to the journal's homepage, but that doesn't always work.

Once you are in the Libraries' record for the journal you should see at least one option for full-text availability. Click on the link that provides access to the date range you are interested in.

Screenshot of the Libraries' record for Lancet showing the multiple options for full-text access.

You can also search for a specific journal using BrowZine:

Search e-journals