Subject Guides
HIST 481Q/HIST 501M/MDVL 480C History of Emotions
Guide Contents
Subject Librarian
Web Portals of possible interest
-
Voice of the Shuttle Webpage for Humanities Research page (Univ of Calif Santa Barbara). An excellent compilation of academic websites for all humanities subjects. Although there is not a separate Medieval or Early Modern studies page, searching these terms in the VoS search box will return a list of links across the humanities devoted to these time periods.
-
The Labyrinth (Georgetown University) provides free, organized access to electronic resources in medieval studies through a World Wide Web server at Georgetown University. The Labyrinth's easy-to-use menus and links provide connections to databases, services, texts, and images on other servers around the world. Each user will be able to find an Ariadne's thread through the maze of information on the Web.
-
WWW-Virtual Library History page is a collection of links to academic websites for History. Subcategories include: History by Continent/Country and History by Eras and Epochs.
Databases of interest
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- Eighteenth Century Collections OnlineOver 180,000 full-text books based on the English Short Title Catalogue.
- Historical Abstracts with Full TextCovers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- International Medieval BibliographyLeading bibliography of the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500), provides records to articles, scholarly notes, etc. on all aspects of medieval studies and covering publications in over 30 languages. Click on "Enter Databases."
- Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender IndexCovers journal articles, book reviews, and essays in books about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Books written by a single author are not indexed in MFI; for these, check library catalogs that have strong collections in medieval studies.
- Post-Reformation Digital LibraryThe Post-Reformation Digital Library (PRDL) is a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. The PRDL is a project of the Junius Institute for Digital Reformation Research.
- Universal Short Title CatalogueThe USTC has now absorbed all our data for the period 1601-1650, so that we provide full coverage of the first two centuries of print in all our searches and analysis. We have added an extra one million copies, with, as far as possible, call numbers. We now have located copies from 8,500 libraries, archives and museums.
The USTC now comprises 740,000 editions with 4,000,000 surviving copies. Additional data to be added over the next weeks will take this total to 780,000 editions. The USTC now includes descriptions of some 40,000 single-sheet items, and this too will climb rapidly as we incorporate several thousand further items that we have discovered in our searches in archives.
Each search now comes with a list of literature references. Where there is a record in other major on-line bibliographies, you should be able to click straight through to it. We have added one new facet, so all searches can now be analysed for printer/publishers, as well as place, language and format. For each of these searches we offer far more than the ‘top ten’ of the old USTC.
BREPOLIS MEDIEVAL DATABASES
- Brepols Publishers OnlineProvides access to the International Medieval Bibliography (IMB), International Bibliography of Humanism and the Renaissance (IBHR), Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale (BCM), Monumenta Germaniae Historica (MCH), Library of Latin Texts (Series A and B), Database of Latin Dictionaries, Dictionary of Medieval Latin from British Sources, and the International Directory of Medievalists. Can search these alone or across titles.
- Database of Latin Dictionaries (DLD)Searches across twenty or more dictionaries of the Latin language (including Latin-English and Latin-French dictionaries) for ancient, medieval, or modern Latin and for selected subjects. Searches are within the dictionary entries or by the CLTO classification of lemmas (word roots) and may be filtered by selected dictionaries.
Journal article databases
- Humanities Source UltimateFull text for many of the most important academic sources in the humanities. .
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
