Subject Guides
CLAS 381E: Etruscan archaeology: Home
Library of Congress Classification System
Binghamton University Libraries uses the Library of Congress Classification System (LC) to organize books by subject area. The LC call number will appear in the library catalog.
Click HERE to go to an outline of Library of Congress subject classifications.
General history is classified under call numbers beginning with D, E and F
- B - Philosophy & Religion
- D - Europe, Asia, Africa, Australia
- PA - Classical Languages & Literature
However, historical materials can be found throughout the call number ranges A-Z. Books on the history of a particular topic will often be found in the call number range for that topic. For example:
- Books on the history of Agriculture will be found in the S call number range
- Books on the history of Law will be found in the K call number range
- Books on economic or social history will be found in the H call number range
WWW Resources
- Smarthistory - Etruscan ArchaeologySmarthistory is the most-visited art history resource in the world and official provider of art history for Khan Academy. There are several pages and videos devoted to Etruscan archaeology.
- Reserve reading for our class(In case this link doesn't work, you can access the reserves from the library reserves page or our MyCourses page!)
Online Resources
The Etruscan World by ISBN: 9780415673082Publication Date: 2013-08-13The Etruscan World brings to life the culture and material past of the Etruscans and highlights key points of development in research, making it essential reading for researchers, academics and students of this fascinating civilization.
Etruscology by ISBN: 9781934078488Publication Date: 2017-09-25This handbook has two purposes: it is intended (1) as a handbook of Etruscology or Etruscan Studies, offering a state-of-the-art and comprehensive overview of the history of the discipline and its development, and (2) it serves as an authoritative reference work representing the current state of knowledge on Etruscan civilization. The organization of the volume reflects this dual purpose. The first part of the volume is dedicated to methodology and leading themes in current research, organized thematically, whereas the second part offers a diachronic account of Etruscan history, culture, religion, art & archaeology, and social and political relations and structures, as well as a systematic treatment of the topography of the Etruscan civilization and sphere of influence.
Oxford Classical Dictionary (3rd Edition) by ISBN: 9780199567386Publication Date: 2005The Oxford Classical Dictionary is a comprehensive reference source on the classical world. Written by classical scholars from around the world, the Dictionary provides coverage of Greek and Roman history, literature, myth, religion, linguistics, philosophy, law, science, art and archaeology, and topics in near eastern studies and late antiquity.
A Companion to the Etruscans by ISBN: 1118354958Publication Date: 2015-12-10This new collection presents a rich selection of innovative scholarship on the Etruscans, a vibrant, independent people whose distinct civilization flourished in central Italy for most of the first millennium BCE and whose artistic, social and cultural traditions helped shape the ancient Mediterranean, European, and Classical worlds.
Monumentality in Etruscan and Early Roman Architecture by ISBN: 0292738897Publication Date: 2012-01-01
- ARTstorDigital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. For assistance, contact Emily Creo.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
- Loeb Classical LibraryA fully searchable, virtual library of Greek and Latin literature with English translations. Includes epic and lyric poetry; tragedy and comedy; history, travel, philosophy, and oratory; the great medical writers and mathematicians; and those Church Fathers who made particular use of pagan culture.
- Perseus Classics CollectionFeatures several hundred works of classical Greek and Roman authors, both in the original language and in translation (mostly older but standard editions such as the Loeb). It also includes the Latin Vulgate, the Greek New Testament, and an English Bible text. From Tufts University.
- Brill's New Pauly Encyclopedia of the Ancient WorldUnrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world, covering more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
- Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR)Bryn Mawr Classical Review (BMCR) is an open access journal founded in 1990. It publishes peer-reviewed reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies including classical archaeology. This journal is the second oldest online humanities scholarly journal.
- Classical Latin Texts (Packard Humanities Institute)A collection of digital texts of major Latin authors searchable by Author, Word, or Concordance display.
- The Princeton Encyclopedia of Classical Sites Richard Stillwell, William L. MacDonald, Marian Holland McAllister, Stillwell, Richard, MacDonald, William L., McAlister, Marian Holland, Ed. (1976)The Princeton encyclopedia of classical sites. Stillwell, Richard. MacDonald, William L. McAlister, Marian Holland. Princeton, N.J. Princeton University Press. 1976.
The National Endowment for the Humanities provided support for entering this text.
