Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808-1980, represents the single largest compilation of Spanish-language newspapers printed in the U.S. during the 19th and 20th centuries. Features hundreds of Hispanic American newspapers.
It is based on the “Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project,” a national research effort directed by Nicolás Kanellos, Brown Foundation Professor of Hispanic Studies at the University of Houston.
Hispanic American experience from 1904 to the present day, as portrayed by the media. It cultivates more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals and is updated daily.
Searchable by using keywords or over 700 suggested searches organized by historical eras, themes, topical areas and events. Users can also search by date or map. Includes series 1, 2, 3
Chicago Tribune, 1849-2011
Chicago Defender, 1909-1975
Los Angeles Times, 1881-2012
The New York Times, 1851-2017
The Washington Post, 1877-2001
The New York Collection (publications across New York State, 1785-Present)
Covers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
Also includes BIOSIS Citation Index, Data Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Derwent Innovation Index. Medline (1950-present), Current Chemical Reactions, Index Chemicus, and Zoological Records.
Declassified U.S. government documents, providing vital primary source material to advance research in twentieth and twenty-first century history, politics, and international relations, covering events from the Berlin Crisis to post-9/11 U.S. intelligence.
The FRUS series presents the official documentary historical record of major U.S. foreign policy decisions and significant diplomatic activity since 1861. Volumes contain documents from Presidential libraries, Departments of State and Defense, National Security Council, Central Intelligence Agency, Agency for International Development, and other foreign affairs agencies as well as the private papers of individuals involved in formulating U.S. foreign policy.
Volumes in the series since 1952 are organized chronologically according to Presidential administrations, and geographically and topically within each subseries: 65 volumes cover the Nixon and Ford administrations (1969-1976), 32 cover the Carter administration (1977-1980), and about 49 are scheduled for the Reagan administration (1981-1988). Volumes on the George H.W. Bush administration are now being researched, annotated, and prepared for publication.
Constructed and maintained by the Wilson Center's History and Public Policy Program, the Digital Archive contains declassified historical materials from archives around the world, much of it in English translation. The historical documents presented in the ever-expanding Digital Archive provide unique insights into recent international history, and serve to deepen and enrich international scholarship, history education, and public policy debate on important global issues and challenges.
Full text documents relating to politics, history, law, diplomacy and government. International in scope, ranging from 400BC to current times. Contains treaties, speeches, constitutions, letters, etc. Links to supporting documents included.
Hispanic American experience from 1904 to the present day, as portrayed by the media. It cultivates more than 17,000 publications, including 700 Spanish-language newspapers and periodicals and is updated daily.
Searchable by using keywords or over 700 suggested searches organized by historical eras, themes, topical areas and events. Users can also search by date or map. Includes series 1, 2, 3
Primary source documents about Latin America and the Caribbean; academic journals and news feeds; reference articles and commentary; maps and statistics; and audio and video.
Indexes journals about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. and includes a wide range of topics.
Topics include politics and government, public administration, foreign relations, commerce and trade, banking and finance, business and industry, economic development and policy issues, economic integration, social movements, indigenous affairs, gender studies, environmental issues, drug trade, history, geography, archaeology, anthropology, ethnography, folklore, religion, art, literature, drama, film. Coverage: 1970-present.
Indexes journal articles, books, newspaper articles, and book chapters dealing on all aspects of Latino life. Strongest for Chicanos/Mexican-Americans, but also includes content on other Latin American populations living in the United States including Puerto Ricans, Dominicans, Cuban Americans, and Central Americans.
Topics include the arts, economics, education, folklore, gender studies, health, history, labor, law, mental health, poetry, politics, and sociology. Coverage: 1960- (for Chicanos) 1992- (for other Latino populations)
Covers more than 400 years and 65,000 volumes in North, Central, and South America and the West Indies. The collection includes sermons, political tracts, newspapers, books, pamphlets, maps, legislation, literature, highlighting the society, politics, religious beliefs, culture, contemporary opinions, and momentous events of occurring 1500-1926.
Drawn from Joseph Sabin's famed bibliography, Bibliotheca Americana: A Dictionary of Books Relating to America from Its Discovery to the Present Time
Allows you to search for the full-text of articles from approximately 300 journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, and the Iberian Peninsula. La Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y el Caribe, España y Portugal (RedALyC)'s interface is in Spanish.
A multi-disciplinary database, it is strongest in the Humanities and Social Sciences, with fewer journals in the Sciences. (Universidad Autnoma de Estado de Mxico)
An archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 1 focuses on the creative life of U.S. Latinos and Hispanics. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English.
It draws its content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960.
An archive of publications focused exclusively on U.S. Hispanic history, literature and culture from colonial times until 1960. Available in two series, Series 2 focuses on Hispanic American civil rights, religion and women’s rights from the 18th through the 20th century. Content is written, indexed and searchable in Spanish and English
Hundreds of rare books by Latino-Hispanic Americans
• Over 3,000 issues of rare historical newspapers and periodicals, including over 75,000 pages of content
• Over 250,000 pages of personal and organizational manuscript content
• Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%)
The most complete database of electronic books and journals in the Spanish language. Covers over 40,000 e-book and journal titles from countries such as Spain, Colombia, Chile, Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Dominican Republic
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Includes such topics as world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955; and 350 of them in full text.
A research and learning database providing comparative documentation, analysis, and interpretation of major human rights violations and atrocity crimes worldwide from 1900 to 2010. The collection includes primary and secondary materials across multiple media formats and content types for each selected event.
Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
The archive includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, as well as correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs. It is also rich in online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations.
The collection currently includes 130 document projects and document archives with 5,200 documents and more than 185,000 pages of additional full-text documents, written by more than 2,700 primary authors. The database also contains numerous collections of primary sources, including the Writings of Black Women Suffragists and Publications of State and Local Commissions on the Status of Women.
Accompanying lesson plans and related material present new ways to study American History. The Libraries subscribe to the Scholar's Edition which includes a database of publications of local, state, and federal commissions on the status of women between 1963 and 2005. The women's commissions database currently hasabout 1,900 publications, 90,000 pages of primary sources, and 8 scholarly essays.
Monographs, journals, and pamphlets reflecting the evolution of a feminist consciousness and women's rights up through the mid-twentieth century. Coverage: 1543-1945.
Provides easy access to primary sources otherwise available only in a few rare book rooms. Materials span four centuries and 15 languages. Page images reproduce original printed works covering women, history, social conditions and feminism.
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Millions of records cataloged by libraries around the world.
Includes manuscripts written as early as the 11th century. Materials also include books, websites and internet resources, maps, computer programs, musical scores, films and slides, newspaper titles, journal and magazine titles, sound recordings, videotapes, and more.
