Subject Guides
HIST380J/JUST386B
Subject Librarian
Searching for Books
Need books? Check out our visual guide to searching for, locating, and checking out books.
Historical Statistics
Social Explorer includes U.S. Census data from 1790 to 2010, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000,
PolicyMap includes data on violent and non-violent crimes (listed under "Quality of Life"). For help getting started, see our PolicyMap Guide.
Background Info
- Encyclopedia of American Jewish HistoryCall Number: REF E184.J5 E48 2008Located in the Bartle Library Reference Collection (in the Information Commons)
- Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and CultureTo access this ebook, click on the title, then select the "View Online" tab, and finally click "Open source in a new window" at the top left.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica
This link opens in a new window
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures
Primary Sources
Jewish News Sources
- Jewish Chronicle (London)To access the Jewish Chronicle's archive, you'll need to register for a free account. (The register button is at the top right corner of the page). Coverage: 1841-present.
- Pittsburgh Jewish Newspapers ProjectJewish Chronicle (Pittsburgh), 1962-2010; Jewish Criterion, 1895-1962; American Jewish Outlook, 1934-1962; Y-JCC series, 1926-1976
- Historical Jewish PressIncludes the following English language newspapers:
The B’nai B’rith Messenger (Los Angeles), 1897-1995; Palestine Bulletin, 1925-1932; The Occident and American Jewish Advocate (Philadelphia), 1843-1869; The Palestine Post, 1932-1950; The Sentinel (Chicago), 1911-1996 - Chronicling America: Historic American NewspapersIncludes the following English-language Jewish newspapers:
The Jewish Herald (Houston), 1908-1911; The Jewish Monitor (Fort Worth-Dallas), 1919-1921; The Jewish South (Richmond), 1893-1899.
Use the "Advanced Search" tab to search within these publications. - The American Jewess (1895-1899)The first English-language periodical targeted to American Jewish women, covering an evocative range of topics that ranged from women's place in the synagogue to whether women should ride bicycles.
- JTA (Jewish Telegraphic Agency) ArchiveThe digitized JTA archive starts with articles written in 1923.
- COMMENTARY Digital ArchiveImportant directions for accessing articles: When you click this link, you'll see a list of different access points for magazine. To search for articles, use the second link ("Humanities Source") and click "Search within this publication" at the top left of the page. You can access any of the articles from before 1990 by using the first link listed ("Single Journals") and clicking the "Archive" tab. (This method is highly recommended because the archive's search functionality is very limited).
General News Sources
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- Global NewsstreamIncludes national papers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Also local and regional papers including the Press and Sun from Binghamton, the Ithaca Journal, and other Gannett publications. Coverage: 1980 - current
Government Documents
- FBI VaultThe Vault is the FBI's electronic FOIA Library, containing nearly 7,000 documents and other media that have been scanned from paper into digital copies. Quality of scans varies greatly.
- U.S. Declassified Documents OnlineThis collection is made up of U.S. government documents obtained from presidential libraries. These libraries receive declassified documents from various government agencies, including the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department, and others.
- ProQuest CongressionalAccess to legislative publications including Congressional Hearings (parts A-D), U.S. Bills and Resolutions (2014-2018), laws, reports, documents, prints, the Federal Register, the Code of Federal Regulations, and member and committee information.
Primary Sources on Microfilm
The following primary sources are only available on microfilm in the Newcomb Reading Room. If you need help finding or using any of these sources, just ask at the Reader Services desk in Newcomb.
- National Council of Jewish Women (1908-1917, 1925-1940)Minutes, 1908-1917, 1925-1940, miscellaneous reports, membership lists, newspaper articles, committee reports, correspondence, and annual reports.
- National Council of Jewish Women (1908-1987)Minutes of Board, executive budget, and various committees, and of general meetings, also newspaper clippings, 1908-1987
- Jewish International Conference on the Suppression of the Traffic in Girls and Women (1910)Official report of the Jewish international conference on the suppression of the traffic in girls and women, held on April 5th, 6th, and 7th, 1910, in London, convened by the Jewish Association for the Protection of Girls and Women
Secondary Sources
- America: History & Life with Full TextLiterature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
