Subject Guides
- Binghamton University Libraries
- Subject Guides
- Course Pages
- HIST 180A/280A: Mapping American Prejudice
- Library Resources and Databases
HIST 180A/280A: Mapping American Prejudice
Guide Contents
Librarian
Secondary Sources
- Find It!Find It! includes results from JSTOR, Academic Search Ultimate, Project Muse, and many more. You can also select "Search within text of books and articles" to view results that have any mention of your search term in the text, not just in the title and keywords. It may be more efficient to search in Find It!, but you can also search directly in those databases if you feel more comfortable or prefer using some of their advanced search features and capabilities.
- JSTORJSTOR automatically searches the full text of content (unlike Find It and America: History and Life with Full Text). It can be useful to search in JSTOR directly when you want to automatically see results with any mention of a name or topic, not just when your keyword shows up in the title or description/abstract. Articles also usually have related images that could be useful.
- America: History & Life with Full TextFull text access to over 200 journals and their articles, focusing on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. This is a great resource because it only returns results that are relevant to the U.S. and Canada, and each article has an abstract, although not every article included is full text.
Primary Sources
- New York Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)Includes archival material from The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, The New York Amsterdam News, and 21 smaller newspapers covering New York State, including Binghamton, Elmira, Ithaca, New York, Rochester, and Rockland. Coverage begins in the late 1800s-early 1900s, depending on the publication.
- NYS Historic NewspapersThe NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers chosen to reflect New York's unique history. This site includes several newspapers from the Broome County region.
- Documenting White Supremacy and its Opponents in the 1920s (DWSO)Brings together a comprehensive set of local, regional and national newspapers published by the Ku Klux Klan and sympathizers, and anti-Klan newspapers from Black American, Catholic and Jewish communities.
- Broome County Oral History ProjectComprised of 64 recorded interviews, the project functioned to both obtain historical information about life in Broome County for future researchers and teachers, and to provide employment for older persons of a limited income. Interviews were conducted between November 1977 and September 1978 by five interviewers under the supervision of the Action for Older Persons Program.
- Broome County Sanborn Fire Insurance MapsIntended to provide insurance agents with visual maps of the degree of potential risk of fire damage and destruction, the maps produced by the Sanborn Map Company depict the sizes, shapes, construction material types, and roof types of residential and commercial buildings. The maps also detail the locations of doors and windows, sprinkler systems, and fire walls for each buildings, and specify street names, house numbers, and property lines.
- Ancestry Library EditionGenealogy research tool that includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more. Note: This edition does not have all the features of the regular edition. See the article for information.
- Social ExplorerProvides access to US decennial census data from 1790 to 2010, American Community Survey data and selected business, economic, crime, health, environmental and religious data. It does not include data for all census geographies, particularly for earlier decennial censuses. Users can customize, save, print, export and email reports and maps
