Subject Guides

COPY CATALOGING OF ELECTRONIC MONOGRAPHS (UNABRIDGED): Home

COPY CATALOGING OF ELECTRONIC MONOGRAPHS

To be Cataloged:

Electronic monographs with

LDR (Leader):
Type of record (6) = a
Bibliographic level (7) = m
Encoding level (17) = blank, I, K, L, M, 1, 4, 7, or 8 (Accept K and M for electronic monographs only; 3 or 5 must go to adjusted cataloger)

006 (Additional Material Characteristics):
Form of material (0) = m; Form of item (6) = o; Type of computer file (9) = d

007 (Physical Description Fixed Field):
Category of material (0) = c
Material designation (1) = r

Excluded from copy cataloging are:

  • Titles with no 006 or 007
  • Titles with no 245 $c Statement of Responsibility
  • Atlases
  • Bibliographies
  • Serials (LDR, Bibliographic level (7) = s)
  • Cataloging source (040): exclude records with foreign language $b's ($b fre, $b ger, etc.); and, exclude 040 $b eng if followed by $e fobidrtb
  • Juvenile materials (008 Target audience (22) = a, b, c, or j)
  • Non-Roman language materials
  • Proceedings (111/711 fields and/or 008 Conference Publication (29) = 1)
  • 245 Title that includes subfield $n (Number of part/section of a work subfield)
  • Bibliographic records without any 6XX fields with 2nd indicator "0" (Library of Congress subject heading). Exception: Individual literary works.
     

General Instructions: To be checked before field-by-field inspection of bibliographic record.

A. Briefly check record for:

  • Author/editor
  • Title (245 $c required for electronic monographs)
  • Publisher 
     

B. Subject Headings

  • Bibliographic records which are not literary works should have at least one 600, 610, 611, 630, 650, or 651 field with second indicator "0"
  • Individual literary works (novel, poems, short stories by one author) do not necessarily require any subject headings.

C. Identifying RDA/AACR2 Records:

Descriptive Cataloging Form (Leader byte 18):

blank = non ISBD (International Standard Bibliographic Description)
i = ISBD
a = AACR2
i = RDA; also 040 (Cataloging source code) $e rda

NOTE: There are many, many hybrid (i.e. mixed rules) records. You may accept hybrid records.

Field-by-Field Inspection of Record: Match monograph against bibliographic record for fields specified. Ignore fields not mentioned. Add, edit or update fields as instructions specify. Pass monograph on to adjusted cataloging when instructions specify.

006 (Additional Material Characteristics) For electronic monographs, Form of material (byte 00) = m ... is required (it will be the 1st character in the field); form of item "o" and type of computer file "d".

007 (Physical Description Fixed Field)For electronic monographs, Category of material (byte 00) = c; and Material designation (byte 01) = r ... are required (they will be the 1st 2 characters in the field).

008 (Fixed Length Data Elements) Check to see if the language code (008 fixed data, bytes 35-37) matches the primary language of the item. Refer to the MARC Code List for Languages. For electronic monographs, check to see if Form of item (byte 23) = small letter o.

010 (Library of Congress Control Number) Only accept 010 on electronic monographic records if there is a "DLC" in the 040 (Cataloging Source) field. Delete the 010 field on electronic monographic records if "DLC" is not in the 040 field.

020 (ISBN) For electronic monographs, check ISBN's associated with electronic monograph to make sure they're in the MARC record. If not, add electronic ISBNs as 020 $a and print ISBNs as 020 $z. If unclear if ISBN is print or electronic, input as 020 $z. Do not remove any existing 020 fields in the bibliographic record (there may be multiple electronic ISBNs associated with the title because ebooks may be available in multiple electronic formats: PDF, EPUB, online, etc.).

035 (Local System Number) Retain the 035 field that indicates source of record. Retain the 035 :9_: field that reflects the original NOTIS ID.

040 (Cataloging Source) Record must have either no $b or a $b eng. Exclude records with foreign language $b's ($b fre $b ger, etc.); and, exclude 040 $b eng if followed by $e fobidrtb

072 (Subject Category Code) If on record, accept as is.

1XX (Creator Main Entry) Includes 100, 110, 111, and 130 fields. If there is an error with the main access point, send to an adjusted cataloger. If diacritics on monograph are missing from the record or if they take up 2 spaces instead of 1 space, send item to an adjusted cataloger.

240 (Uniform/Preferred Title) Remove initial articles if present (see MARC Initial Definite and Indefinite Articles list list). 2nd (filing) indicator should always be "0." Otherwise, accept as is.

245 (Title/Statement of Responsibility) Check filing indicator (2nd indicator) for accuracy. Check for spelling errors.

$a Title Proper -- Edit, if necessary, to match title page. If title proper is in ALL CAPITAL LETTERS or Each Word Capitalized, change to sentence case (only first word and proper nouns capitalized).

$b Other Title Information/Parallel Titles -- Edit, if necessary, to match title page.

$c Statement of Responsibility -- Accept titles (ex. Dr., Professor, etc.) and affiliations as is, but do not add. At minimum, the 1st named creator or contributor should be represented by 1XX or 7XX field. $c is required for electronic monographs. If there is no $c in the record, notify electronic resource cataloger.

246 (Variant Titles) If any variant titles are represented by 740 field(s), leave as is. Delete initial articles in 246 fields. Accept existing 246 field indicators as they are, unless otherwise specified. Explanatory information should be included in $i, title information should be included in $a.

A. If an existing 246 field contains a $i, accept as is.

B. Add cover titles, spine titles, and parallel titles that differ significantly (unless they already exist) as 246:3_

C. Add alternative titles (change "&" to "and"; arabic numerals to spelled out form; century numerals to spelled out form, etc.) as 246:3_ (Unless they already exist).

D. Add access to portion of title when appropriate as 246:3_

E. If there is a spelling mistake in the title on the title page, the mistake should be included in the 245. Add a 246:1_ with the correct spelling.

         ex. 246:1_: $i Title should read: $a Spelling for dummies

See 246 Variant Title Entries for more examples.

250 (Edition) Check to see if essentially the same as on monograph; if not, pass on to adjusted cataloging. Add an edition statement (250 field) if it is obvious from the title page, preliminaries, or colophon. Remember that in RDA the whole edition statement should be written out (no abbreviations).

When the monograph in hand is other than a first edition, search Aleph to see if we own previous editions of that title. If so, use the classification number used for the previous edition.

NOTE: Spanish and Portuguese books -- Often the edition statement simply constitutes another printing. If all other information (publisher and paging) matches, consider the record a match and alter (if necessary) the edition statement to match the book. Also alter (if necessary) the publication date and the date on the classification number. Change (if necessary) the publication dates fixed field.

260 (Pre-RDA Publication Information)

$a Place of publication -- Check to see if essentially the same as on monograph; if not, pass on to adjusted cataloging.

$b Publisher -- Check to see if essentially the same as on monograph; if not, pass on to adjusted cataloging.

$c Date of publication -- Match with appropriate date in monograph. Change on bibliographic record, if necessary. Change date in the Libraries' classification number (holdings record), if necessary. A change in the 260 date will automatically be reflected in the 008 fixed data, bytes 07-10.

264 (RDA) (Publication, Distribution, etc. -- Imprint) There can be more than one 264 field; if there is more than one 264 field in the record, accept, but do not add. (If you think a second 264 should be added, notify electronic resource cataloger.)

$a Place of publication -- Check to see if essentially the same as on monograph; if not, pass on to adjusted cataloging.

$b Publisher -- Check to see if essentially the same as on monograph; if not, pass on to adjusted cataloging.

$c Date of publication -- Match with appropriate date in monograph. Change on bibliographic record, if necessary. Change date in the Libraries' classification number (holdings record), if necessary. A change in the 264 date will NOT automatically be reflected in the 008 fixed data, bytes 07-10. If the 008 needs to be changed, give to adjusted cataloger.

264 _4 (Copyright)

  • If there is a separate 264 _4 with a copyright date, check that the date is correct and change if necessary. Do NOT delete copyright date if it is the same as publication date.

  • There is no need to add a 264 _4 if one does not exist.

  • If the copyright date is for the upcoming year, use it anyway.

263 (Projected Publication Date) If on record, delete.

300 (Physical Description) Electronic monographs only require "300:__: $a 1 online resource."

336-338 (Content/Media/Carrier) For electronic monographs accept the following (with or without $b's) and add if they are not in the record:

336:__: $a text $b txt $2 rdacontent
337:__: $a computer $b c $2 rdamedia
338:__: $a online resource $b cr $2 rdacarrier

4XX (Series Statement)--We will accept the series statements if they are in any 440 or 490 field.

The 440 field is now obsolete. Accept existing 440 fields. Add new series titles as 490 fields; do not change 490 fields to 440.

  1. Check for obvious spelling errors.

  2. Remove initial articles if present (see MARC Initial Definite and Indefinite Articles list).

  3. All 440 fields should have a second indicator of “0” (490 fields have first indicator of "1" and blank second indicator).

  4. Check all numbered series in the Libraries' catalog or in the authority file to see if it should be classed as a collection. If so, notify electronic resource cataloger.

  5. If series is on the record, but not on monograph, delete it from the record.

  6. If series is on monograph, but not on record:

    A. If series is numbered, follow above procedures for numbered series. If numbered series is not fully analyzed, classed as a collection (FTC or FTC?), add the series as a 490:1_.

    B. If series is unnumbered, add the series as a 490:1_.

  7. Add 830:_0: uniform series title

5XX (Notes)

A. Add notes for bibliographical references and indexes, if not on record and if easily discernible from electronic content information.

500:__: $a Includes index. (If there are no bibliographical references)
504:__: $a Includes bibliographical references and index.

B. Enhanced 505:00: (contents) notes: $t should include title information, and $r should include author information. $g miscellaneous information not required

C. Add or update 505 fields for multipart monographs.

D. Leave all 520 notes in the bibliographic record, regardless if the book is children’s or adult material.

E. Do not add 588 description source field, but accept if there.

F. Remove 506, 533, 538, and 583 notes from IZ record (do not remove these 5XX fields in OCLC Connexion)

6XX (Subject Headings) Includes 600, 610, 611, 630, 650, and 651 fields.

A. Check for obvious spelling errors.

  • Remove initial articles after any $t.
  • Accept above fields with second indicator 0, 1, or 2. Library of Congress (LC) subject headings have a 2nd indicator of "0," LC Children subject headings have a 2nd indicator of "1," and Medical subject headings (MeSH) have a 2nd indicator of "2." Delete all others.
  • Delete all 653, 654, 656-658.

B. Bibliographic records which are not individual literary works should have at least one 600, 610, 611, 630, 650, or 651 field with second indicator "0" (LC subject heading). If not, notify adjusted or original cataloger

C. Individual literary works (novel, poems, short stories by one author) do not necessarily require any subject headings.

D. Accept 6XX fields with 2nd indicator 0, 1, 2, 7 with $2.

Note: A record that contains only MeSH subject headings (2nd indicator of "2") needs to have LC subject headings (2nd indicator of "0") added. MeSH headings should not be deleted, but notify Jill of records with only MeSH headings.

E. Delete all other 6XX fields with second indicators 3-6,7 without $2, 8-9.

 

7XX (Added Entries) Check for obvious spelling errors. If diacritics on monograph are missing from the record, send item to adjusted cataloger. Remove initial articles after any $t.

710 field -- Remove only if electronic monograph provider (ex: Wiley InterScience (Online service); Palgrave Connect (Online service); SpringerLink (Online service); ebrary, Inc.)
730 & 740 fields -- Remove initial articles if present in $a. 1st (filing) indicator should be a "0."
776 field -- Do not add, but accept if there

8XX (Series Added Entries) Check for obvious spelling errors. Remove initial articles after any $t.

830 field -- Remove initial articles if present in $a. 2nd (filing) indicator should be a "0."
886 field -- Delete all 886 fields.

jy 8/11/17;rev. 1/3/2022