Subject Guides

ARAB 385D: Jesus, Mary, and Joseph … in the Quran!

Guide Contents

Librarian

Contact:

mtuttle@binghamton.edu
LN 2303

(607) 777-4913

Subjects: German & Russian Studies, History, Medieval, Renaissance & Early Modern Studies, Middle Eastern & Ancient Mediterranean Studies, Russian & East European Studies

MEAMS Subject Guide

Middle Eastern and Ancient Mediterranean Studies
by Mary Tuttle Last Updated Aug 20, 2024 216 views this year

Library Databases

Find It!
Libraries' one-stop search tool for books, journals, articles, videos, sound recordings, digital images and more.

Annee Philologique
An exhaustive index of periodicals, books and festschriften in classics and classical studies. Coverage: 1969 - 2 years ago.
It covers Greek and Latin linguistics and literature and Greek and Roman archaeology, history, mythology, religion, epigraphy, numismatics and palaeography: all aspects of the ancient Mediterranean world.
ATLA Historical Monographs Collection: Series 1
Provides religious and theological literature from the late 13th century to 1893. Vital for scholars seeking to understand religious thought and practice.

Find It! includes results from JSTOR, Historical Abstracts with Full Text, Project Muse, and more. It may be more efficient to search in Find It!, but you can also search directly in those databases if you feel more comfortable or prefer some of their advanced search features.

JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Includes such topics as world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955; and 350 of them in full text.
Project Muse
Humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals from several university presses.
Coverage: Varies by title; earliest from 1990.

Reference Works

Brill's New Pauly Online
Unrivalled modern reference work for the ancient world, covering more than two thousand years of history, ranging from the second millennium BC to early medieval Europe. Special emphasis is given to the interaction between Greco-Roman culture on the one hand, and Semitic, Celtic, Germanic, and Slavonic culture, and ancient Judaism, Christianity, and Islam on the other hand.
Brill's Encyclopaedia Islamica Online
Based on the abridged and edited translation of the Persian Dāʾirat al-Maʿārif-i Buzurg-i Islāmī, one of the most comprehensive sources on Islam and the Muslim world. A unique feature is in the attention given to Shiʿi Islam and its rich and diverse heritage. Vols. 1-5 (A-BUR) currently available.
In addition to providing entries on important themes, subjects and personages in Islam generally, Encyclopaedia Islamica Online offers the Western reader an opportunity to appreciate the various dimensions of Shiʿi Islam, the Persian contribution to Islamic civilization, and the spiritual dimensions of the Islamic tradition.

Last Updated: Mar 29, 2024 3:39 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/ARAB385D
Print Page

Subjects: Middle Eastern & Ancient Mediterranean Studies

Tags: meams, mena, middle_east