- International Documents Task Force Web Links( ALA/GODORT)
Directory to places to go for sites of foreign governments and non-governmental organizations (NGO's).
- Topical Guides (ALA/GODORT IDTF)
Research guides covering topics a range of topics of use to scholars, such as foreign governments, online catalogs and databases, and European Union, League of Nations and the UN.
- Foreign Government Resources on the Web (UMich Documents Center)
Although not the most up-to-date, this directory still provides a very comprehensive list of resources, much of them free and web based.
Agencies and Information on the Web (UMich Documents Center)
A huge directory of International Government Organizations (IGOs) and NGOs, and a very comprehensive list of sources that relate to them, such as databases, guides, search engines, jobs and treaties.
- International bibliography: publications of intergovernmental organizations / International bibliography, information, documentation.(Bartle Library Reference Z6482 .I55)
- Background Notes - (U. S. State Department)
brief facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of all countries.
- CIA World Factbook (Bartle Ref Atlases G122 .U56a)
Contains country profiles of the history, climate, government, economy, communications, defense forces, and people.
- Country Profiles (Library of Congress)
summarizes the historical background of a country, and gives a variety of current economic and social statistics.
- Europa World Yearbook (Bartle Reference JN1 .E89)
Includes essays on information such as industry, government, communications, and population.
- Portals to the
Authoritative, in-depth information about the nations and other areas of the world. Links selected by Area Experts at the Library of Congress.
- Statesman's Yearbook (Bartle Reference JA51 .S7)
General information and events are noted, along with a wealth of statistical information.
- U.S Department of State: Countries, Regions:
Brings a variety of reports, advisories, and fact sheets about regions, countries, and embassies together in one place.
International organization directories
- Also see the International statistics & census page, which provides links to UN statistical agencies.
- Encyclopedia of the United Nations (Bartle Library Reference KZ4968 .M66 2008 v.1-2)
Contains entries on people, events and groups relevant to the UN. Appendices contain primary documents.
- The Oxford handbook on the United Nations (Bartle Library Reference JZ4970 .O93 200)
Analytical chapters on the work and organization of the UN
Directory of United Nations documentary and archival sources. (Bartle Library Reference JX1977.8.D6 H34 1991)
- United Nations documentation: a brief guide. (Bartle Library Reference
JX1977.8.D6 U56 1981)
- UN Documents Index (Bartle Library Reference Z6481 .U45 v.1-24)
UNDEX. United Nations documents index. Series B: country index.
(Bartle Library Reference Z6481 .U42)
UNDEX Series "C" : cumulative edition, 1974-1978 (Bartle Library Reference Z6481 .U18)
Indexes the reports and documents from General Assembly. Economic and Social Council, Secretariat, Regional Economic Commissions, Security Council, Trusteeship Council, International Court of Justice and others.
- United Nations documents index. Cumulated index, volumes 1-13, 1950-1962 : United Nations and specialized agencies documents and publications.(Bartle Library Reference Z6482 .U452 1950-1962 v.1-4)
Binghamton University Libraries is not a UN depository library and does not carry UN publications, but can often procure them through Inter-Library Loan.