*Statistics & Census Data

Guides

  • The handbook of national population censuses: Latin America, and the Caribbean, North America and Oceania (Bartle Reference HA 36. G67 1983)

  • A guide to Latin American and Caribbean census material. (Bartle Reference HA755 .G85 199)

  • The handbook of national population censuses : Europe  (Bartle Reference HA37.E93 G69 1992)

  • The handbook of national population censuses : Africa and Asia (Bartle Reference HA37.A33 D65 1986)

  • Foreign government statistics (UMich Documents Center)

Sources

  • Major Cities & Agglomerations
    Statistics and maps about the population of the major agglomerations of the world. See explanations about the data.
     
  • Population Index: 1986-2000 On-line
    Covers fertility, mortality, population size and growth, migration, nuptiality and the family, research methodology, projections and predictions, historical demography, and demographic and economic interrelations.

  • International Statistics - from the Census Bureau. Provides dates for national census and links to other national statistical agencies
     
    • International Database
      Data bank containing statistical tables of demographic, and socio-economic data for 227 countries and areas of the world.
       
    • WorldPop Clock - up to the second simulation of the world population.
       
  • Population Reference Bureau
    Information on U.S. and international population trends.  Their publications include the World Population Data Sheet, which includes key indicators from geographic areas of populations of 150,000 or more.

  • Population Statistics: Historical Demography
    Historical, demographic and statistical overview of the population of all the countries in the world, their administrative divisions and their important cities.

  • Statistics Canada
    Official government web site for Canadian statistical information.

  • Statistical Insight
    Indexes and abstracts printed federal, state, and international statistical publications.

  • Wistat - Women's Indicators and Statistics (Bartle Reference CD-ROM HQ1154 .W57 1999)
    Statistics and indicators on gender, population and social development. Covers 206 countries or areas of the world, topics covered include a range of gender-related issues and social data, including statistics on domestic violence, reproductive health and rights, education, and communication. Dates: 1970-1999, with future projections. 

  • World Development Indicators 
    Contains socio-economic time series data on the countries of the world. See the Data Manual from the World Bank for information on what is covered.

United Nations

  • United Nations Statistics Division (United Nations)
    Variety of free and subscription-only data. See also Demographic and Social Statistics.

    • Demographic Yearbook (Bartle Reference HA17 .D45, 1948-2000, online 1948-2007)
      Data on population, natality, mortality, nupitality, and divorces. Also includes a world summary.

    • Statistical Yearbook (Bartle Reference HA 12.5 .U63, 1948-2006
      Data on population and social aspects, economic activities, and international economic relations. Update monthly by Monthly Bulletin of Statistics.

    •  Population and Vital Statistics Report (Bartle Library HB 881 .U6, 2006-2007)
      Quarterly journal gives estimates of world and regional populations as well as estimates for 218 countries. Information is derived from each country's latest population, national census and from nationally representative statistics on birth and mortality.

  • UNESCO - focuses on education, science & technology, literacy and communication.

    •  Data Centre  - contains over 1000 indicator types, covering countries around the world, for users to combine into their own data tables

    • UNESCO Statistical Yearbook (Bartle Reference HA 12.5 .U6, 1963-1999) - was the main annual statistical publication, with detailed tables
  • UN Development Division: Population
    Collects a variety of statistics and publishes reports, particularly focusing on developing and less-developed areas of the world.

    • Urban Agglomerations (United Nations)
      Population and growth rates of urban agglomerations over time.  19962001 | 2003

Subject Librarian

Dave Vose's picture
Dave Vose
Contact:
Bartle Library: 777-4907

Downtown Center: 777-9275