Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Includes such topics as world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955; and 350 of them in full text.
Digitized materials from member institutions and libraries are freely available to the public for items not under copyright restrictions (generally pre-1923 and most government documents). Downloading and other functions may be limited.
HathiTrust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future.
CRL has numerous research materials in addition to those found in their catalog. Searchable Special Collection Databases include Foreign Newspapers, U.S. Ethnic Newspapers, Current Serial Titles from the States of the Former Soviet Union, Civilian Conservation Corps Camp Papers, Foreign Doctoral Dissertations, and Current Science Serials.
Collection Highlights provides descriptions of major microform sets of special interest. Digital Collections are online image and full-text CRL collections. The CRL Handbook provides a subject listing and description of the uncatalogued CRL collections. Subject brochures of the collections are also available. Binghamton University students, faculty, and staff can borrow materials found in CRL collections through Interlibrary Loan
Contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
A database consisting of over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) based on the English Short Title Catalogue. It includes over 33 million full-text searchable images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Although primarily in English, the database also includes many items published in other European languages.
Includes over 33 million full-text searchable images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Although primarily in English, the database also includes many items published in other European languages.
A digital collection of books, manuscripts, newspapers, photographs, ephemera, and maps that cover politics and society, literature, spirituality, technology and more.
As of 2015, the Libraries has the following collections:
Asia and the West
Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange
British Politics and Society
British Theatre, Music, and Literature
High and Popular Culture
Europe and Africa: Commerce, Christianity, Civilization, and Conquest
European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection
Mapping the World: Maps and Travel Literature
Photography: The World through the Lens
Science, Technology, and Medicine: 1780-1925, Parts I & II
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. Coverage: 1851-2017. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Full-image online archive of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785-2019. Does not include the Sunday Times or TLS.
The text within the images is fully searchable at the article level. Users can easily search news articles, obituaries, advertising and classifieds - virtually everything that appeared in the newspaper. Results are displayed at the article level and users may view the article or the full page upon which it appeared.
Online archive of published and manuscript primary sources focusing on women's international activism since the mid-nineteenth century.
The archive includes proceedings of women's international conferences, books, pamphlets, articles from newspapers and journals, as well as correspondence, diary entries, and memoirs. It is also rich in online publications of contemporary Non-Governmental Organizations.
Primary sources for the historical study of sex, sexuality, and gender. With material dating back to the sixteenth century,you can examine how sexual norms have changed over time, health and hygiene, the development of sex education, the rise of sexology, changing gender roles, social movements and activism, erotica, and many other interesting topical areas.
We have perpetual access to parts I, II, III, and IV
HEARTH is a core electronic collection of books and journals in Home Economics and related disciplines. Titles published between 1850 and 1950 were selected and ranked by teams of scholars for their great historical importance.
The first phase of this project focused on books published between 1850 and 1925 and a small number of journals. Future phases of the project will include books published between 1926 and 1950, as well as additional journals. The full text of these materials, as well as bibliographies and essays on the wide array of subjects relating to Home Economics, are all freely accessible on this site. This is the first time a collection of this scale and scope has been made available.
Includes 61 collections of rare primary source documents organized by topic/ focus which span European colonialism, 1960s social movements, African-American civil rights, the Holocaust, and the Tiananmen Square protest.
*America in Protest: Records of Anti-Vietnam War Organizations, The Vietnam Veterans Against the War
*American Indian Movement (AIM) and Native American Radicalism
*Black Economic Empowerment: The National Negro Business League
*Black Liberation Army and the Program of Armed Struggle
*Black Nationalism and the Revolutionary Action Movement: The Papers of Muhammad Ahmad (Max Stanford)
*British Mandate in Palestine, Arab-Jewish Relations, and the U.S. Consulate at Jerusalem, 1920-1944
*Bush Presidency And Development And Debate Over Civil Rights Policy And Legislation
*Correspondence from German Concentration Camps and Prisons
*County and Regional Histories & Atlases: New York, 1804-1966
*European Colonialism in the Early 20th Century (French Colonialism in Africa: 1910-1930, German Colonies, 1930-1939; Italian Colonies, 1930-1939; Political and Economic Consolidation of Portuguese Colonies in Africa, 1910-1929)
*Fannie Lou Hamer: Papers of a Civil Rights Activist, Political Activist, and Woman
*FBI Files: Assassination of Martin Luther King, JR.; American POWs/MIAs in Southeast Asia; Hollywood and J. Edgar Hoover: Communists in the Motion Picture Industry; War on Povery: Office of Civil Rights, 1965-1968; Watergate; We We Prepared for the Possibility of Death, Freedom Riders in the South, 1961-1962
*FBI Surveillance of James Forman and SNCC
*FDR/New Deal & Race Relations 1933-1945
*Federal Response to Radicalism in the 1960s
*Federal Surveillance of African Americans, 1920-1984
*Federal Surveillance of the Partido Independentista Puertorriqueño (P.R. Independence Party)
*Fight For Racial Justice And The Civil Rights Congress
*German Anti-Semitic Propaganda, 1909-1941
*Holocaust And Records Of Concentration Camp Trials: Prosecution Of Nazi War Crimes
*Hollywood, Censorship, and the Motion Picture Production Code, 1927-1968
*Intergovernmental Committee on Refugees: The West’s Response to Jewish Emigration
*Integration of Alabama Schools and the U.S. Military, 1963
*International Women’s Movement: The Pan Pacific Southeast Asia Women’s Association of the USA, 1950-1985
*James Meredith, J. Edgar Hoover, and the Integration of the University of Mississippi
*Jewish Question: Records from the Berlin Document Center
*Jewish Underground Resistance: The David Diamant Collection
*JFK’s Foreign Affairs and International Crises, 1961-1963
*Johnson Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Liberation Movement in Africa and African America
*Liberia and the US: Nation-Building in Africa, 1864-1918
*Literature, Culture and Society in Depression Era America: Archives of the Federal Writers’ Project
*Minutemen, 1963-1969: Evolution of the Militia Movement in America, Part I
*National Farm Worker Ministry: Mobilizing Support for Migrant Workers, 1939-1985
*Nazi Bank and Financial Institutions: U.S. Military Government Investigation Reports 1945-1949
*Nazism In Poland: The Diary Of Governor-General Hans Frank
*Nixon Administration and Foreign Affairs
*Nuremburg Laws And Nazi Annulment Of Jewish German Nationality
*Observer: News for the American Soldier in Vietnam, 1962-1973
*Palestine and Israel: Records of the U.S. Department of State, 1945-1959
*Papers of Amiri Baraka, Poet Laureate of the Black Power Movement
*Papers of the Nixon Administration: The President’s Confidential and Subject Special Files, 1969-1974
*Politics, Social Activism and Community Support: Gay and Lesbian Periodicals and Newsletters
*Psychological Warfare and Propaganda in World War II: Air Dropped and Shelled Leaflets and Periodicals
*Quest For Labor Equality In Household Work: National Domestic Workers Union/1965-1979
*Rastafari Ephemeral Publications from the Written Rastafari Archives Project
*Ralph J. Bunche Oral Histories Collection on the Civil Rights Movement
*Safehaven Reports On Nazi Looting Of Occupied Countries And Assets In Neutral Countries
*Sunday School Movement and Its Curriculum
*Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2006
*Testaments to the Holocaust Digital Archive
*Tiananmen Square and U.S.-China relations, 1989-1993
*Vatican and the Holocaust, 1940-1945
Contents: The online catalogue of UN documents and publications, including access to UN-produced materials in digital format and bibliographic records for print UN documents starting in 1979. Full text search of documents issued since 1993; resolutions of all principal organs & Security Council plenary documents since 1946. Older documents are added regularly. Includes the Daily Journals of New York and Geneva.
H-HistBibl is an international network of librarians, archivists, curators, and scholars interested in the practice and study of bibliographic and library services to support the study and teaching of history.
