It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.Includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Includes: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 113,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 bio-critical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars; Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements and prizes.
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Indexes over 500,000 articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives, silent film holdings archives and International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
This film studies database was created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Coverage: 1972 - present.
Indexes journals about Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, and Hispanics in the U.S. and includes a wide range of topics.
Topics include politics and government, public administration, foreign relations, commerce and trade, banking and finance, business and industry, economic development and policy issues, economic integration, social movements, indigenous affairs, gender studies, environmental issues, drug trade, history, geography, archaeology, anthropology, ethnography, folklore, religion, art, literature, drama, film. Coverage: 1970-present.
NexisUni provides access to 15,000+ news, business and legal sources.
Includes full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; articles and data on businesses, corporations, industries and markets in the U.S. and abroad; magazines and trade journals; biographical information and special directories; legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.
Explores one the of most influential theorists of the anti-colonial movement, as it follows Fanon from his birth in 1925 on the French island of Martinique through his medical training in France, then to Algeria where he joined the liberation struggle.
In 1946, at a time when other French colonies were just beginning to break free of French imperial control, the people of the French Antilles-the Caribbean islands of Martinique and Guadeloupe-voted to join the French nation as departments. This examines the Antilleans' more peaceful but perhaps equally vexing process of forging a national identity in the French empire.
Twelve scholars representing a variety of academic fields contribute to this study of slavery in the French Caribbean colonies, which ranges historically from the 1770s to Haiti';s declaration of independent statehood in 1804. Based on official records and public documents, historical research, literary works, and personal accounts, these essays present a detailed view of the lives of those who experienced this period of rebellion and change.
Through a series of case studies spanning the bounds of literature, photography, essay, and manifesto, this book examines the ways in which literary texts do theoretical, ethical, and political work.
From Vodou to Zouk by John Gray; Julian Gerstin (Foreword by)
Call Number: Fine Arts Collection Stacks ML3565 .G73 2010
Publication Date: 2010-06-30
From Vodou to Zouk is a landmark bibliography documenting vernacular music traditions of Haiti and the French-speaking Caribbean. Its nearly 1300 entries cover all of the French-speaking islands, in particular Haiti, Martinique, Guadeloupe, and French Guiana, as well as their overseas enclaves in France, the United States and Canada.
Caribbean Dynamics by Béatrice Boufoy-Bastick (Editor); Savrina Chinien (Editor)
In Caribbean Dynamics: Re-configuring Caribbean Culture, the authors present the multi-vocality of Caribbean culture with an integrated overview of the social, political and cultural themes that dominate the Caribbean landscape. Francophone, Anglophone, Dutch and Spanish creolization in the Caribbean is examined to reveal reconfigured national and regional identities. Divided into 3 main sections, the first, 'The Dynamics of Carib-being', looks at how literature has helped to shape Caribbean identities. The second section, 'Performing Arts: Mapping out the Caribscape' presents the diversity of Caribbean culture, while the third section, 'Transcending Adversity to Foster a Caribbean Culturalist Ethos' examines how Caribbean cultural identity is articulated and translated in social and government policies.
In Obeah and Other Powers, historians and anthropologists consider how marginalized spiritual traditions--such as obeah, Vodou, and Santeria--have been understood and represented across the Caribbean since the seventeenth century.
Slavery in the Caribbean Francophone World by A. Arnold (Contribution by); Leara Rhodes (Contribution by); Marie-José N'Zengou-Tayo (Contribution by); Doris Kadish (Editor); Albert Valdman (Contribution by); Catherine Reinhardt (Contribution by); Diane Morrow (Contribution by); Douglas Egerton (Contribution by); Gabriel Louis Moyal (Contribution by); Joan Dayan (Contribution by); John Claiborne Isbell (Contribution by); Kimberly Hanger (Contribution by)
Twelve scholars representing a variety of academic fields contribute to this study of slavery in the French Caribbean colonies, which ranges historically from the 1770s to Haiti's declaration of independent statehood in 1804. Including essays on the impact of colonial slavery on France, the United States, and the French West Indies, this collection focuses on the events, causes, and effects of violent slave rebellions that occurred in Saint-Domingue, Guadeloupe, and Martinique.
Books in French and Creole
Manifestes et Programmes Littéraires Aux Caraïbes Francophones by Obszyński, Michał
As an ethnographer and a member of the diaspora, Ulysse delivers critical cultural analysis of geopolitics and daily life in a series of dispatches, op-eds and articles on post-quake Haiti. Her complex yet singular aim is to make sense of how the nation and its subjects continue to negotiate sovereignty and being in a world where, according to a Haitian saying, tout moun se moun, men tout moun pa menm (All people are human, but all humans are not the same). . The book is trilingual (English, Creole, and French) and includes a foreword by award-winning author and historian Robin D.G. Kelley.
The Binghamton University Public Speaking Lab (PSL) supports student development and success in public speaking and oral presentation preparation and delivery. The PSL provides quality peer-to-peer consulting to ANY Binghamton University student seeking oral presentation assistance and critique.
The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.