Subject Guides

French 381E French & Francophone Film

Course guide for French 381E.

Guide Contents

News Publications & Databases

Global Newsstream
Covers a variety of French news sources, including Le Monde. After doing your search, limit to French language.
Replaces Newstand and Gannett Newstream.
Nexis Uni
Put in the director and part of the title (in French) in the search box. Then limit your results to French language. Covers thousands of news resources.
Includes full-text access to thousands of news sources in the U.S. and abroad back to the 1970s; articles and data on businesses, corporations, industries and markets in the U.S. and abroad; magazines and trade journals; biographical information and special directories; legal documents, including U.S. Federal and State court cases, and law reviews from the late 18th century to present.

Le Monde Journal d'information en ligne, Le Monde.fr offre à ses visiteurs un panorama complet de l'actualité. Découvrez chaque jour toute l'info en direct (de la politique à l'économie en passant par le sport et la météo) sur Le Monde.fr, le site de news leader de la presse française en ligne. Le Monde via Bartle Library

Le Figaro is a conservative French newspaper.

Liberation is a left-leaning French newspaper.

Le Parisien is a daily French newspaper with news from France and around the world. Le Parisien via Bartle Library.

AllYouCanRead.com is a database with links to magazines and newspapers from around the world. French language publications from France, Canada, Haiti, Tunisia and other countries are represented.

Le journal de Montreal Des nouvelles accessibles et complètes : sports, politique, spectacles, argent et judiciaire.

Le Soleil (Sénégal) Le Soeil via Bartle Library

Journal Articles on French Films

Find It
This is the search box on the Library's homepage. Put in the director name and the film name in French. Then limit your results to French language. Searches articles, books, book chapters and DVDs.

FIAF International Index to Film Periodicals
Indexes over 500,000 articles from academic and popular film journals. Also includes the International Index to TV Periodicals, Treasures from the Film Archives, silent film holdings archives and International Directory of Film/TV Documentation Collections.
This film studies database was created by the International Federation of Film Archives (FIAF). Coverage: 1972 - present.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations are included.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.

Persee
Digitization of a large collection of conference papers and journals across subjects. All in French.

Humanities Source Ultimate
Full text for many of the most important academic sources in the humanities. .
Humanities Source provides coverage of feature articles, interviews, bibliographies, obituaries, and original works of fiction, drama, poetry and book reviews, as well as reviews of ballets, dance programs, motion pictures, musicals, radio and television programs, plays, operas and more. Includes full-text. Coverage: 1910 - present.
Art & Architecture Source
Covers a number of film journals, including "Cahiers du Cinema" (back to 2011).
Art & Architecture Source (formerly Art Source) offers over 640 full-text journals -- as well as detailed indexing and abstracts for an array of journals, books and more. International in scope, Art Source includes periodicals published in French, Italian, German, Spanish and Dutch.
Literature Resource Center
Some coverage of film and directors. Most articles are in English, but you can limit to the French language by scrolling down the Advanced Search page to the "by language" limiter.
Includes: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 113,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 bio-critical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars; Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements and prizes.
Literary Reference Source
Some coverage of films and directors. Most articles are in English. There is a language limit, but it isn't always accurate.
Also includes includes Merriam Webster’s Encyclopedia of Literature, Beacham’s Research Guide to Biography and Criticism, The Oxford Illustrated History of English Literature, and all of Magill On Literature Plus.

Director Interviews

The easiest way to find audio/visual interviews with French film directors is to search YouTube. Try the director's name and the word "interview". Our streaming services, Avon and Kanopy, tend to be less useful for this, but they are also worth a try.

Box Office and Awards

Box Office Mojo May not cover all films, especially older ones, but is worth a look.

Cesar Awards This is the french version of the Academy Awards. Started in 1976.

Academy Awards

Subject Librarian

Colleen Hailey

Contact:

Office 1528, Bartle Library, last one on left in the Reference area.
607-777-2621

chailey@binghamton.edu

Subjects: Cinema, Economics, Management

Other French Cinema Websites

The Institute National de L'audiovisuel is another good source for information on French film and directors.

AlloCine' news, reviews, box office and more for French film.

Encyclopedias

Encyclopedie Contributive Larousse collaborative online encyclopedia.

Encyclopedia of French Film Directors
Call Number: Bartle Library Reference PN1998.2 .R444 2010
Historical Dictionary of French Cinema
Call Number: Bartle Library, Fine Arts PN1993.5.F7 O83 2007
ISBN: 9780810854918

Last Updated: Sep 9, 2024 2:25 PM
URL: https://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/french381efrenchandfrancophonefilm
Print Page

Subjects: Cinema, Comparative Literature

Tags: francophone, french