Subject Guides
Engineering Design Division
EDD 104 Course Guide
Subject Librarian
Feedback
The above form is optional to fill out and serves as a way for Aleshia to work to improve the guide. The form is anonymous, and NOT a way to reach out for help. If you need assistance, contact Aleshia directly.
General Engineering & Applied Science Databases
- Applied Science & Technology Source UltimateTopics include artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies. Includes full-text articles.
- ASME DatabaseProvides full-text access to journals and recent conference proceedings by the American Society for Mechanical Engineers.
- Engineering Village (Compendex)A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database referencing engineering journals and conference materials. Coverage: 1884-present.
- Science DirectFull-text access to Elsevier journals subscribed to by SUNY institutions. To view journals choose "Browse Journals" under Licensed users.
- IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE and IET transactions, journals, and magazines, select conference proceedings, and current standards. IEEE content published since 1988, plus select content from multiple publishers dating back to 1872, is available. Includes IEEE Journal Archive (1884-1999) and IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive (1936-1999).
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
- Google ScholarFinds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
Medical Databases
- PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- CINAHL UltimateExtensive coverage of nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health. Full text of the most influential journals in nursing.
Covers publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing.Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software. - MEDLINE with Full TextFull text of authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
Recommended Journals and Magazines
The recommended journals and magazines below publish in areas related to your topic and may be useful to search individually or browse through. However, all of the databases listed above provide results of thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other sources and will provide more results.
- Assistive TechnologyPeer-reviewed journal directed at practitioners involved in the application of assistive & rehabilitation technologies & the delivery of related services.
- ACM transactions on accessible computingPeer-reviewed journal published by a very large Computer Science organization on accessible computing
- ACM SIGACCESS accessibility and computing.Peer-Reviewed journal published by ACM's Special Interest Group on Accessible Computing
- Access WorldTrade magazine of the American Federation of the Blind
Books
Below is a list of recommended books that relate to your project.
As you research more and expand the scope of your project idea, you may wish to consult books on another topic. You can search the Library Catalog to find more books. See this tutorial on finding and using ebooks for guidance.
Assistive Technology for Visually Impaired and Blind People by ISBN: 9781846288678Publication Date: 2010-05-12Equal accessibility to public places and services is now required by law in many countries. For the vision-impaired, specialised technology often can provide a fuller enjoyment of the facilities of society, from large scale meetings and public entertainments to reading a book or making music. This volume explores the engineering and design principles and techniques used in assistive technology for blind and vision-impaired people. This book maintains the currency of knowledge for engineers and health workers who develop devices and services for people with sight loss, and is an excellent source of reference for students of assistive technology and rehabilitation.
User-Centered Software Development for the Blind and Visually Impaired: Emerging Research and Opportunities by ISBN: 9781522585398Publication Date: 2019-07-05User-Centered Software Development for the Blind and Visually Impaired: Emerging Research and Opportunities is a collection of innovative research on techniques, applications, and methods for carrying out software projects in which the main users are people with visual impairments. While highlighting topics including mobile technology, assistive technologies, and human-computer interaction, this book is ideally designed for software developers, computer engineers, designers, academics, researchers, professionals, and educators interested in current research on usable and accessible technologies.
Visually Impaired by ISBN: 163484372XPublication Date: 2016-01-01The first chapter of this book aims to provide an overview of the existing travel aids for people affected by visual diseases, discussing pros and cons of available technologies. The aim of the next chapter is to convince the reader that solutions based on mobile visual aid systems will answer a critical societal challenge. Chapter Three explores the use of electromagnetic technology in support of visually impaired athlete runners. Chapter Four describes the present state of mobile technologies development taking into consideration the point of view of visually impaired people. Finally, the goal of the concluding chapter is to relate how the audio-description has been produced as a communication accessibility resource.
App and Website Accessibility Developments and Compliance Strategies by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1799878481Publication Date: 2021-08-13
Computer Access for People with Disabilities by ISBN: 9780429097799Publication Date: 2013-01-11Incorporating Compass Computer Access Assessment software, Computer Access for People with Disabilities: A Human Factors Approach provides the information clinicians need to know in order to provide effective alternative computer access solutions to individuals with disabilities. Originally developed for a masters-level course on computer access fo
Websites
- Accessible Design for the BlindOrganization committed to making travel safer for pedestrians with disabilities through research, consultation, education and advocacy.
- American Federation for the BlindNon-profit organization for people with vision loss. AFB's priorities include broadening access to technology and healthy living for people with vision loss by providing them with relevant and timely resources. Check out their magazine, Access World.
- ADA.govContains information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act.
- VisionAwareNon-profit organization for people with vision loss due to age-related eye diseases.
- National Federation for the BlindOrganization led by blind people aimed at educating general public and interacting with legislators at local, state, and federal levels.
- National Center for College Students with Disabilities Research BriefsOrganization that supports and researches disability services for colleges. Above link takes you to their research briefings which focus on current topics related to college students with disabilities, summarizing key issues and making recommendations for researchers.
