Subject Guides
Engineering Design Division
EDD 104 Course Guide
Subject Librarian
Feedback
The above form is optional to fill out and serves as a way for Aleshia to work to improve the guide. The form is anonymous, and NOT a way to reach out for help. If you need assistance, contact Aleshia directly.
General Engineering & Applied Science Databases
- Applied Science & Technology Source UltimateTopics include artificial intelligence, applied mathematics, plastics, hydroponics, computer science, chemical engineering, energy resources and robotics, as well as the business and social implications of new technologies. Includes full-text articles.
- ASME DatabaseProvides full-text access to journals and recent conference proceedings by the American Society for Mechanical Engineers.
- Engineering Village (Compendex)A comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database referencing engineering journals and conference materials. Coverage: 1884-present.
- Science DirectFull-text access to Elsevier journals subscribed to by SUNY institutions. To view journals choose "Browse Journals" under Licensed users.
- IEEE Xplore Digital LibraryProvides full-text access to IEEE and IET transactions, journals, and magazines, select conference proceedings, and current standards. IEEE content published since 1988, plus select content from multiple publishers dating back to 1872, is available. Includes IEEE Journal Archive (1884-1999) and IEEE Conference Proceedings Archive (1936-1999).
- Web of ScienceCovers the citation indexes: Science, Social Sciences, Arts & Humanities, Book Citation Index, Conference Proceedings Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index, and Journal Citation Reports
- Google ScholarFinds scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research. If you use this Google Scholar link, you will be able to use the Get it link to take advantage of the Libraries' full text and InterLibrary Loan services.
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
Medical Databases
- PubMedFrom the National Library of Medicine. Includes over 14 million citations for biomedical articles back to the 1950's. These citations are from MEDLINE and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
- CINAHL UltimateExtensive coverage of nursing, allied health, biomedical, and consumer health. Full text of the most influential journals in nursing.
Covers publications of the American Nurses Association and the National League for Nursing.Includes health care books, nursing dissertations, standards of professional practice, nurse practice acts and educational software. - MEDLINE with Full TextFull text of authoritative medical information from such fields as medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and pre-clinical sciences.
Journals and Magazine
The recommended journals and magazines below publish in areas related to your topic and may be useful to search individually or browse through. However, all of the databases listed above provide results of thousands of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, and other sources and will provide more results.
- Assistive TechnologyPeer-reviewed journal directed at practitioners involved in the application of assistive & rehabilitation technologies & the delivery of related services.
- ACM transactions on accessible computingPeer-reviewed journal published by a very large Computer Science organization on accessible computing
- ACM SIGACCESS accessibility and computing.Peer-Reviewed journal published by ACM's Special Interest Group on Accessible Computing
Books
App and Website Accessibility Developments and Compliance Strategies by Call Number: ebookISBN: 1799878481Publication Date: 2021-08-13
Computer Systems Experiences of Users with and Without Disabilities by ISBN: 9781466511132Publication Date: 2013-11-18This book provides the necessary tools for the evaluation of the interaction between the user who is disabled and the computer system that was designed to assist that person. The book creates an evaluation process that is able to assess the user's satisfaction with a developed system. Presenting a new theoretical perspective in the human computer interaction evaluation of disabled persons, it takes into account all of the individuals involved in the evaluation process.
Beyond Accessibility Compliance by Call Number: ebookISBN: 9781484279472Publication Date: 2022-12-01Take a deep look at accessibility as it applies to mobile and wearables. This book covers topics within the accessibility domain that are rarely covered or understood, despite the fact that nearly half of the world's population uses smartphones. Explores the current landscape and policy frameworks, examines the software product lifecycle and how to embed inclusion from the start. You'll learn the nuances of mobile accessibility as it applies to mobile devices, wearables, and IoT.
Life on Wheels by ISBN: 1932603336Publication Date: 2008-09-01"There are 1.7 million regular wheelchair users in the United State. It is the A-Z guide for all you need to know about every aspect of living with mobility impairment. This unique book offers an initial road map to the lifelong, complex, and fascinating road of the disability experience.
Computer Access for People with Disabilities by ISBN: 9780429097799Publication Date: 2013-01-11Incorporating Compass Computer Access Assessment software, Computer Access for People with Disabilities: A Human Factors Approach provides the information clinicians need to know in order to provide effective alternative computer access solutions to individuals with disabilities. Originally developed for a masters-level course on computer access fo
Websites
- ADA.govContains information and technical assistance on the Americans with Disabilities Act.
- National Center for College Students with Disabilities Research BriefsOrganization that supports and researches disability services for colleges. Above link takes you to their research briefings which focus on current topics related to college students with disabilities, summarizing key issues and making recommendations for researchers.
