Subject Guides

ITAL 461: Dante's Divine Comedy

Found a resource we don't have access to?

When articles are not available full-text in the database or you find a book the Libraries do not own, use to see if the book or article is available full-text in print or in another database; if the full-text is not available, use to request an Interlibrary Loan (ILL) for the book or article so we can get it from another library.

How to Search for Articles and Books

Using Find it! for Searching Resources

Searching for articles using Find it!, found on the Libraries' home page, quickly searches multiple databases and journals for resources based on keywords and subject headings. Advanced search screens allow for combining multiple search terms using AND, OR, NOT for better results. These same methods can be used to search for books the Libraries own, as well.

Using Other Databases for Searching Resources

Unfortunately not all journals and databases the Libraries subscribe to are able to be searchable in Find It! Here are several databases that would prove useful in your search for scholarly resources related to Dante and his works:

Literature Resource Center
Access biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline.Includes fiction, nonfiction, poetry, drama, history, and journalism.
Includes: Contemporary Authors Online, offering biographical coverage of more than 113,000 writers; Contemporary Literary Criticism Select, featuring entries on all authors appearing in CLC since vol. 95 of the print series and complete profiles of 266 most studied authors from editions prior to vol. 95; Dictionary of Literary Biography Online, containing more than 10,000 bio-critical essays on authors and their works written by academic scholars; Merriam-Webster's Encyclopedia of Literature, featuring 10,000 entries for authors, works, literary landmarks, literary and critical terms, mythological and folkloric figures, fictional characters, literary movements and prizes.
Project Muse
Humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals from several university presses.
Coverage: Varies by title; earliest from 1990.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Academic Search Ultimate
Covers over 11,000 journals in all fields of study.
Peer-reviewed, full-text journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in every discipline ranging from astronomy, anthropology, biomedicine, engineering, health, mathematics, pharmacology, women’s studies, zoology and more.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Subjects covered include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts. Citations of journal articles, books and dissertations are included.