Subject Guides
AAAS384/HIST384 Minorities in China and Beyond
Guide Contents
Related Subject Guides
Read Online
The Han by
This ethnography explores contemporary narratives of "Han-ness," revealing the nuances of what Han identity means today in relation to that of the fifty-five officially recognized minority ethnic groups in China, as well as in relation to home place identities and the country s national identity. Based on research she conducted among native and migrant Han in Shanghai and Beijing, Aqsu (in Xinjiang), and the Sichuan-Yunnan border area, Agnieszka Joniak-Luthi uncovers and discusses these identity topographies. Bringing into focus the Han majority, which has long acted as an unexamined backdrop to ethnic minorities, Joniak-Luthi contributes to the emerging field of critical Han studies as she considers how the Han describe themselves - particularly what unites and divides them - as well as the functions of Han identity and the processes through which it is maintained and reproduced. The Han will appeal to scholars and students of contemporary China, anthropology, and ethnic and cultural studies."
ISBN: 9780295805979Publication Date: 2015
- China's ethnic groups and religions Qian Zheng Singapore : Cengage Learning Asia c2011 Provides a historical background on the ethnic groups of China and explains how the central government categorizes ethnic groups and minorities.
Reference & Sources
An Ethnohistorical Dictionary of China by Call Number: Bartle Library Reference -- DS730 .O74 1998ISBN: 0313288534- 中囯少数民族分布图集 = Atlas of distribution of national minorities in China byCall Number: Bartle Library Reference -- DS730 .Z46 2002
- 文化人類學辭典 byCall Number: Bartle Library Reference -- GN11 .J53 2002
Marginalization in China by Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks DS730 .C44575 2009ISBN: 9780230614239- 中國民族史 byCall Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- DS730 .L705
- 二十世纪中国少数民族文献分布及学术研究成果 : 国际性书目之书目= An annotated international bibliography of bibliographies on studies of China's ethnic minorities in the 20th century byCall Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- GN635.C5 Z43 2006
Multicultural China: a statistical yearbook (2014) by
With its easy-to-use format, this book provides a collection of annual data on China's 56 ethnic groups. It is a resource book that profiles the demography, employment and wages, livelihood, agriculture, industry, education, science and technology, culture, sports, and public health for each of these ethnic groups. This material, which is compiled from a variety of sources, will be of great value to researchers, businesses, government agencies, and news media. In this book, data are presented on an ethnic group-by-ethnic group basis, and the ethnic groups are ordered alphabetically, from the Achang to the Zhuang. Though most of the data are as of 2011 - the latest year when our research was conducted, we also provide some historical data for a few of indicators. This is intended to help readers to conduct time-series comparisons and analyses.
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks --HM1271 .M85 2015ISBN: 9783662441121
56 Ethnic Groups in China by Call Number: Fine Arts Collection Stacks --ND1049.D345 A4 2010ISBN: 1606521578
Primary Source
- 《清实录》与清档案中的广东少数民族史料汇编 byCall Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- DS754.12 .Q55 2011
- 畲族社会历史调查 She zu she hui li shi diao cha 福州 : 福建人民出版社 : 福建省新華書店发行Call Number: artle Library Stacks --DS731.S54 S54 1986
Books in Bartle Library
Critical Han Studies by
Constituting over ninety percent of China's population, Han is not only the largest ethnonational group in that country but also one of the largest categories of human identity in world history. In this pathbreaking volume, a multidisciplinary group of scholars examine this ambiguous identity, one that shares features with, but cannot be subsumed under, existing notions of ethnicity, culture, race, nationality, and civilization.
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- DS730 .C75 2012ISBN: 0984590986- 中国民族地理 byCall Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- DS730 .C448992 1997
Ethnic China: identity, assimilation, and resistance by
There are some serious concerns and critical questions about the on-going minority protesting in China, such as Tibetan monks self-immolations, Muslims suicide bombings, and Uyghur large-scale demonstrations. Why are minorities such as the Uyghur dissatisfied, when China is rising as a world power? What kind of struggle must they go through to maintain their identity, heritage, and rights? How does the government deal with this ethnic dissatisfaction and minority riots? And what is ethnic China s future in the 21st century? Ethnic China examines these issues from the perspective of Chinese-American scholars from fields such as economics, political science, criminal justice, law, anthropology, sociology, and education. The contributors introduce and explore the theory and practice of policy patterns, political systems, and social institutions by identifying key issues in Chinese government, society, and ethnic community contained within the larger framework of the international sphere.Their endeavors move beyond the existing scholarship and seek to spark new debates and proposed solutions while reflecting on established schools of history, religion, linguistics, and gender studies."
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks --DS730 .E84 2015ISBN: 149850728X- 中国边疆与民族问题 : 当代中国的挑战及其历史由来 = China's border regions and ethnic nationalisms byCall Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- DS737 .Z432 2005
Cross-Cultural Psychology by
This book situates the essential areas of psychology within a cultural perspective, exploring the relationship of culture to psychological phenomena, from introduction and research foundations to clinical and social principles and applications.<br /> - Includes contributions from an experienced, international team of researchers and teachers<br /> - Brings together new perspectives and research findings with established psychological principles<br /> - Organized around key issues of contemporary cross-cultural psychology, including ethnocentrism, diversity, gender and sexuality and their role in research methods<br /> - Argues for the importance of culture as an integral component in the teaching of psychology
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- GN502 .C75 2011ISBN: 9781405198059
Poverty and Inequality among Chinese Minorities by
The number of poor people in China is huge, despite recent economic advances. The minorities in China constitute less than ten per cent of the entire population, yet they represent forty to fifty per cent of the absolute poor. This compelling book investigates the problem of poverty and inequality in and among Chinese ethnic minorities, focusing in particular on two important questions: Have the minorities shared the fruits of spectacular economic growth in China during the past two decades? Is their backwardness due to ethnic and cultural factors or to extremely low incomes? The authors examine the different factors explaining poverty, the relationship between poverty and ethnicity, poverty indicators that permit a comparison between minorities and non-minorities (or the Han majority), economic and demographic characteristics of minorities and their educational, occupational and gender profiles. They consider whether special measures in favour of minorities introduced by the Chinese government have contributed to an improvement in their standard of living. Poverty and Inequality among Chinese Minorities gives original research findings and new thinking on a highly topical issue in Chinese development economics, and fills a gap in the existing economic literature.
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks --HC427.95 .B48 2006ISBN: 0415308402- Multicultural China : a statistical yearbook (2014)Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- HM1271 .M85 2015
Conflict and Social Order in Tibet and Inner Asia by
Revolution and social dislocation under the communist regimes of China and the Soviet Union, followed by the upheavals of reform and modernisation, have been experienced by Tibetan, Mongolian and Siberian people, forcibly integrated into these nation states, as conflict, violence and social disruption. This volume, bringing together case studies from throughout the region, assesses the experiences and legacies of such events. Highlighting the agency of those who shape and manipulate conflict and social order and their historical, cultural and religious resources, the contributors discuss evidence of social continuity, as well as the recreation of social order. Engaging with anthropological debates on conflict and social order, this volume provides an original comparative perspective on both Tibet and Inner Asia.
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- HN670.22.A8 C66 2008ISBN: 9789004158177
Social Issues in China by
Since 1978, the opening up and reform in China has brought tremendous economic and social changes. While China's economic progress has been commendable, the social problems that go with economic changes have raised serious concerns. Some of those concerns are related to gender,nbsp;ethnic, labor, andnbsp;environmental issues. This book is about what has happened in these arenas innbsp;China since the opening up and reform in 1978. nbsp; The study of gender, ethnicity, labor, and environmentnbsp;touches on some of the fundamental problems of modernization, especially the development of individuals and groups. So even though gender, ethnicity, labor, and environmentnbsp;seem to be separate issues, they are in fact related in some fundamental ways. That's what this book will explore as well. nbsp; To understand is one thing and to do is another. This book also incorporates studies of NGO practices to see how NGOs have helped in transforming gender, ethnic, labor, and environmentnbsp;interplay. Our study of NGOs in helping improvenbsp;such interplaynbsp;sheds light on how specifically civil society can prod the state to transform socialnbsp;relations for the better. This book is an attempt to assess the changes, both positive and negative, in gender,nbsp;ethnic, ethnic, and environmentalnbsp;relations in China especially in the past 30 years of opening up and reform, especially regarding national identity formation.
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks --HN733.5 .S635 2014ISBN: 9781461422242
Crossing National Borders by
International migration and other types of cross-border movement are becoming an important part of international relations in Northeast Asia. In this pioneering study, experts on China, Japan, Korea, Mongolia, and Russia examine the political, economic, social, and cultural dimensions of the interaction between border-crossing individuals and host communities. The book highlights the challenges facing national and local leaders in each country and suggests needed changes in national and international policies. The authors analyze population trends and migration patterns in each country: Chinese migration to the Russian Far East; Chinese, Koreans, and Russians in Japan; North Koreans in China; and migration issues in South Korea and Mongolia. The book introduces a wealth of empirical material and insight to both international migration studies and Northeast Asian area studies.
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks -- JV8756.5 .C76 2005ISBN: 9280811177
