Subject Guides
Local History Resources
A guide to local history resources in Binghamton University Libraries' Special Collection
Guide Contents
Special Collections Librarian
Jeremy Dibbell
he/him
Contact:
Special Collections, Bartle Library
jdibbell@binghamton.edu
607-777-4823
jdibbell@binghamton.edu
607-777-4823
Subjects: Special Collections
Online Resources
What follows are selected links which may be useful for local history research pertaining to the Southern Tier of New York state. Resources primarily pertaining to genealogical research are not included here: these can be found on the Online Resources section of the Genealogy Subject Guide.
- New York Collection (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)This database includes archival material from 21 newspapers covering New York State, including Binghamton, Elmira, Ithaca, New York, Rochester, and Rockland. Note that the Binghamton newspapers change names with some frequency, so you may need to search under multiple titles depending on the time period. See the Publication List for a full list of newspapers included.
- George F. Johnson Memorial Library Community History ArchiveThis digital archive contains a variety of local newspapers and other publications, such as the Endicott Bulletin/Daily Bulletin and the Lestershire-Endicott Record, among others.
- New York Heritage Digital CollectionsNew York Heritage is a research portal for students, educators, historians, genealogists, and anyone else who is interested in learning more about the people, places and institutions of New York State. The site provides free access to hundreds of distinct digital collections, totalling hundreds of thousands of items. The collections in New York Heritage represent a broad range of historical, scholarly, and cultural materials held in libraries, museums, and archives throughout the state. Collection items include photographs, letters, diaries, directories, maps, newspapers, books, and more. Several collections from Binghamton University Libraries are available.
- NYS Historic NewspapersThe NYS Historic Newspapers project provides free online access to a wide range of newspapers published in New York. Binghamton University's Colonial News (1946-May 1970) and Pipe Dream (September 1970-1974) are available, as are various other area publications.
- New York State Archives' Digital CollectionsThe New York State Archives' Digital Collections provides access to photographs, textual records, artifacts, government documents, manuscripts, and other materials. Most items come from the holdings of the New York State Archives, but this collection also includes material from the New York State Museum, State Library, and project partners across New York State.
- New York State Military Museum and Veterans Research Center - NYS Division of Military and Naval AffairsThe mission of the museum and research center is to preserve, interpret and disseminate the story, history and records of New York State’s military forces and veterans. They have rich military unit histories and provide some digitized materials.
- Broome County GIS PortalA collection of Broome County maps and data sets useful for GIS-related research.
- Sanborn Maps from the Library of CongressThe Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps Online Checklist provides a searchable database of the fire insurance maps published by the Sanborn Map Company housed in the collections of the Geography and Map Division at the Library of Congress.
