Center for Learning & Teaching

How can faculty create a strong E-presence for their online classes? This book explores emotional, psychological, and social aspects from both the instructor and student perspective. It provides an instructional design framework and shows how a strong presence contributes to effective teaching and learning. Filled with illustrative examples and based on research and experience, the book contains methods, case scenarios, and activities for creating, maintaining, and evaluating presence throughout an online course.

Provides a comprehensive, detailed look at the concepts and processes of developing, creating and implementing a successful e-Learning program. This practical, down-to-earth approach offers clear information and instruction without over-simplifying. Learn to build customized e-Learning programs from scratch, building on core principles of instructional design.

Learn about impactful, purposeful, active online activities, or ‘e-tivities’, that keep learners engaged, motivated, and participating. Grounded in the author’s action research, this book illustrates how technologies shape and enhance learning and teaching. This highly practical book is a powerful guide for academics, teaching professionals, trainers, designers and developers in all disciplines

This series helps higher education professionals improve the practice of online teaching and learning by providing concise, practical resources focused on particular areas or issues they might confront in this new learning environment.

A fresh, thoughtfully designed, step-by-step approach to online course development. At its core is a set of standards that are based on best practices in the field of online learning and teaching. Pedagogical, organizational and visual design principles are presented and modeled throughout the book and users will quickly learn from the guide’s hands-on approach. The course design process begins with the elements of a classroom syllabus which, after a series of guided steps, easily evolve into an online course outline.

Essential reading for online instructors, updated to cover new and emerging issues and technologies The Online Teaching Survival Guide provides a robust overview of theory-based techniques for teaching online or technology-enhanced courses. Covering all aspects of online teaching, this book reviews the latest research in cognitive processing and related learning outcomes while retaining a focus on the practical. A simple framework of instructional strategies mapped across a four-phase timeline provides a concrete starting point for both new online teachers and experienced teachers designing or revamping an online course.

A concise guide for educators teaching online. This updated edition reflects important changes that have occurred since the second edition’s publication. A leader in the online field, this best-selling resource maintains its reader friendly tone and offers exceptional practical advice, new teaching examples, faculty interviews, and an updated resource section.

Whether you're preparing to teach your first online course or seeking to upgrade your current offerings, this book is the go-to guide you've been looking for. Online faculty frequently work at some location other than their "home" campus, which can make it difficult for them to access the targeted collegial support and professional development it takes to truly flourish as educators. Teaching Strategies for the Online College Classroom helps bridge this gap. A collection of articles by leading distance education experts, this book is designed by and for busy college and university faculty. It combines real-world-tested tips and methodologies with a pedagogically sound perspective to help you take your online educational practices to the next level.

Find out how to apply learning science in online classes The concept of small teaching is simple: small and strategic changes have enormous power to improve student learning. Instructors face unique and specific challenges when teaching an online course. Small Teaching Online presents research-based teaching techniques from an online instructional design expert and the bestselling author of Small Teaching.

A practical, streamlined approach for creating effective learning experiences by blending online activities and the best of face-to-face teaching.

This practical handbook for designing and teaching hybrid or blended courses focuses on outcomes-based practice. It reflects the author’s experience of having taught over 70 hybrid courses, and having worked in the Learning Technology Center at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee, a center that is recognized as a leader in the field of hybrid course design.

Digital knowledge maps are ‘at a glance’ visual representations that enrich and transform teaching and learning. Contains chapters that address theory, research and practical issues related to the use of digital knowledge maps, and draws on international perspectives from diverse contributors. Discusses pedagogical, social, cultural, philosophical, and/or ethical issues.

Presents ideas, results and challenges related to new information and communication technologies, innovations and methodologies applied to education and research, as well as demonstrating the latest trends in educational innovation.

This book is filled with illustrative examples of questions and teaching activities that use classroom response systems from a variety of disciplines (with a discipline index). The book also incorporates results from research on the effectiveness of the technology for teaching. Written for instructional designers and re-designers as well as faculty across disciplines

Explores how technology-based learning can enhance student engagement, performance, and empowerment. This book provides insights from educational programs, classroom teaching, and theory-into-practice research; places educational technologies in their social and cultural contexts; and reflects upon challenges and problems in evaluating and implementing changes in the field.

This book offers useful information about initiatives which rethink the value, efficiency, inclusiveness, effectiveness and personalization of the iLMS-based b-learning environment, both by the educators, the LMS designers and educational policy decision makers.

This book provides jargon-free guidance for those interested in how technology can enrich their students' learning. It integrates a wide range of examples from different kinds of higher education institutions and different academic disciplines. Full of practical advice, hints and tips built on sound pedagogical principles, provides a quick user-friendly reference on how to incorporate technology into higher education.