Find Articles in PsycInfo
The database PsycInfo is the primary database for researching topics in the field of psychology. PsycInfo provides abstracts and citations to scholarly literature in the psychological, social, behavioral, and health sciences. Citations are included from the early 1800s to the present.
- Thesaurus - search for depression.
- Use the text boxes to search for articles about memory and drugs.
- Notice search limiters. (Publication Year, Age Groups, Population, Methodology)
- How can you narrow your results? Look to the left on the search screen...
- Use to see if we have a subscription through another database.
- Record view: Abstract, Subjects, Cite, Export
- Training: http://www.apa.org/pubs/databases/training/index.aspx (recommend webinars for librarians or student/faculty, interface is EBSCO)
Find Articles in Web of Science
Web of Science is a scholarly database that includes indexing and abstracting of journals and conference proceedings mostly in the sciences, but also in the social sciences and the humanities.
- Use the search box to find articles about alcohol and behavior.
- How can I narrow my results? Look to the left on the search screen...
- How can I find the top researchers, and highly cited articles?
- Find similar articles: view Times cited and view related records.
- To see if the library subscribes to an article, click on the icon under “Full Text Options”.
You may also want to try looking for your research topic in more specialized databases. You can go to either the Databases tab > Browse Databases, or the Subject Guides link, and find a category that your topic would fall under.
How to Search for Books
The library has a collection of both physical and electronic books. For more information on books see the Finding Books Guide.
You can search in Find It! - the main search box on the library homepage. Once you search, select Books under "material type" on the left. The other limits on the left can also help you refine your search. In addition, you can also change "search all collections" at the top to search just the library catalog, focus on those only "available in the library" and sort by relevance, date, popularity, or author. For sorting, relevance and date are probably the most useful.
You can also do an advanced search for even more control. On the library homepage, select Advanced Search. You can select books from the material type option as well as perform a more advanced search.
See the Find It! FAQ page to learn more.
To determine if we have a journal subscription in print or electronically available, use the search box under the Journals tab. You can also browse for journals by subject.
- Do the libraries subscribe to the journal Animal Behaviour? Is it available online?
- Can you find: Franks, V.R. and Marshall R.C. (2013). Mechanisms and extent of information transfer in socially foraging guppies. Animal Behaviour, 85(1), 103-108.