Subject Guides
HIST 230: History of Medicine
This guide features resources specific to topics in the History of Medicine. For general History research and resources see the U.S. History and World History guides.
Guide Contents
General History Resources
Related Subject Guides
Current News Databases
- Access World NewsFull text of regional and local newspapers for all US states and international sources.
- Global NewsstreamIncludes national papers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Also local and regional papers including the Press and Sun from Binghamton, the Ithaca Journal, and other Gannett publications. Coverage: 1980 - current
- WestlawExtensive coverage of legal materials including case law, statutes, and regulations for the U.S. government and the states. Includes Supreme Court briefs and petitions, United States Code Annotated and secondary legal sources such as American Jurisprudence 2d, American Law Reports, and law reviews.
Historical News Resources
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- (London) Times Digital Archive, 1785-2019Full-image online archive of every page published by The Times (London) from 1785-2019. Does not include the Sunday Times or TLS. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers (Library of Congress)This site allows you to search and view newspaper pages from 1860-1922 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).
- World News Connection ArchiveTranslations of international news sources, including newspapers, radio and television broadcasts, etc that were compiled from the CIA's JPRS and and FBIS programs. Covers 1995-2013.
