Tests & Measures

Tests and Measures in Books

There are some books in the library that have tests published in them, some of which are listed below. You can also search the library catalog to find more books with tests by using the tips suggested below.

Assessing and Measuring Caring in Nursing and Health Sciences / Jean Watson.
Science Library Stacks  RT42 .W38 2009
This book provides all the essential research tools for assessing and measuring caring for those in the caring professions.  The measurements address quality of care, patient, client, and nurse perceptions of caring, and caring behaviors, abilities, and efficacy.

Compendium of Quality of Life Instruments
Science Reference RA407 .C65 1998
This 5 volume set contains general quality of life assessment instruments, disease specific quality of life instruments, specific groups quality of life assessment instruments, and economic quality of life indices.

Handbook of Community-Based and Home Health Nursing Practice : tools for assessment, intervention, and education / Marcia Stanhope, Ruth
Science Library Stacks RT98 .S782 2000
Provides 295 tools and reference documents, including assessment tools for different developmental stages, nutrition guides, cultural assessment instruments and clinical decision-making guides.

Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques
University Downtown Center Reference HQ728 .T68 2001
Volume 3 of this set contains instruments for family relations, marital relations, parent-child relations, family problems, and family adjustment, health and well-being.

Handbook of Sexuality-Related Measures
Bartle Library Oversize *HQ60 .H36 1998
Most of the scales in this book are reproduced in their entirety. Topics range from abortion, to gender identification, to marriage, to relationships.

Handbook of Tests and Measurement in Education and the Social Sciences
Bartle Library  Stacks LB3051 .L4543 2000
Includes tests and measures on such topics as alienation, communication conflict, mentoring, self-actualization, stress, and total quality management.

Instruments for Clinical Health-Care Research
Science Library Reference RT81.5 .I57 2004  
Review available instruments that measure select clinical phenomena; review selected studies employing each tool; identify an instrument’s strengths and weaknesses; and develop instruments for cross-cultural research.

Measurement of Nursing Outcomes 
Science Library Stacks RT85.5 .M434 2001 v.1-3
A compendium of over 30 tools for the measurement of professional and educational outcomes in nursing.

Measurements for Long-Term Care : a guidebook for nurses
Science Library Stacks RT120.L64 B4 1998 
Source for long-term care research instruments brings together more than 100 of the most frequently used (and some of the most difficult to find) measurement tools, providing users with immediate access to a wealth of useful information.

Measures of Need and Outcome for Primary Health Care / David Wilkin, Lesley Hallam, and Marie-Anne Doggett
Science Library Stacks RA407 .W55 1992
Provides a user's guide to a variety of instruments designed to evaluate different aspects of patient outcomes in primary health care. The measures of health status are divided into sections dealing with physical function, mental health, social support, and multidimensional and disease specific measures.

Measures of Political Attitudes
Bartle Library Reference or Bartle Library Stacks JA74 .R57 1999
Bartle Library Oversize *JA74 .R57 [1969]
Bartle Library Oversize *JA74 .R57 Appendix A
Bartle Library Oversize *JA74 .R58 Appendix B
The measures found in these books include such topics as racial attitudes, international attitudes, trust in government, and liberalism and conservatism. There is not significant overlap between the 1969 and 1999 editions.

Measures of Social Psychological Attitudes
Science Reference BF698.4 .M38 1991
Bartle Library Oversize *JA74 .R57 Appendix B
Most of the scales in this book are reproduced in their entirety. Examples of scales that can be found include measuring self esteem alienation and anomia, authoritarianism and dogmatism, values, and general attitudes toward people. Volume 2 of this book is titled Measures of Political Attitudes, and is listed above.

Measures for Clinical Practice: A Sourcebook
Science Library Stacks BF176 .C66 2000
Instruments in Vol. 1 are for use with couples, families, and children. Instruments in Vol. 2 are for use with adults when the problem being addressed is outside the family or couple relationaship.

Rating Scales in Mental Health
Science Library Stacks RC473 .P78 S245 2003
Most of the scales in this book are reproduces in their entirety. Some scales included are for anxiety, mania, patient satisfaction, substance abuse, and aggression.

Sourcebook of Adult Assessment Strategies
Science Library Stacks RC473 .P78 S38 1995
The organization of the scales corresponds to the order of the diagnostic categories in the DSM-IV. Some topics include delirium and dementia, substance-related disorders, eating disorders, and impulse control disorders.

Subject Librarian

Profile Photo
Jen Embree
she/hers
Jen is out on maternity leave until March 2023. For immediate assistance, please contact the Research Help Desk at refquest@binghamton.edu.
Contact:
jembree@binghamton.edu
Science Library, 107
(607) 777 - 4911