Comparative Literature

E BOOKS: FINDING AND USING

Over 476,600 THOUSAND EBOOKS! That's how many e books Binghamton University Libraries own. Included are specialty encyclopedias, directories, dictionaries and many academic titles from major university presses. How do you find them? How do you use them?          

Our subject guide called  FINDING AND USING E BOOKS will tell you how to identify them in Find It! and how to access them on your laptop, iPad, smartphone and other devices. 

Relevant Books in Binghamton University Libraries

Theory and Criticism

Literary History: Towards a Global Perspective. Berlin: W/ de Gruyter, c. 2006. Bartle Library Stacks -- PN441 .L486 2006 
4 volumes. v. 1. Notions of literature across times and cultures / edited by Anders Pettersson -- v. 2. Literary genres : an intercultural approach / edited by Gunilla Lindberg-Wada -- v. 3. Literary interactions in the modern world 1 / edited by Margareta Petersson -- v. 4. Literary interactions in the modern world 2 / edited by Stefan Helgesson.

Handbook of literary terms : literature, language, theory / X.J. Kennedy, Dana Gioia, Mark Bauerlein. --    Boston :   Pearson,   c2013.Bartle Library Reference PN44.5 .K46 2013

The Johns Hopkins guide to literary theory & criticism - Michael Groden, Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman     Bartle Library Reference -- PN81 .J64 2005.

Contemporary literary & cultural theory : the Johns Hopkins guide / edited by Michael Groden, Martin Kreiswirth, and Imre Szeman. --    Baltimore, Md. :   Johns Hopkins University Press,   2012. Bartle Library Stacks PN81 .C744 2012

 

Language and Translation

Contexts, subtexts and pretexts : literary translation in Eastern Europe and Russia - edited by Brian James Baer   Bartle Library Stacks -- P306.8.R8 C66 2011 ISBN: 9789027224378 (hb : alk. paper)

The Oxford handbook of translation studies / edited by Kirsten Malmkjaer, Kevin Windle. Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2011. Bartle Library Stacks -- P306 .O94 2011   

The handbook of language and globalisation / edited by Nikolas Coupland. --    Malden, MA :   Wiley-Blackwell,   2010. Bartle Library Stacks P130.5 .H358 2010.

Special Topics

A historical companion to postcolonial literatures : continental Europe and its empires / edited by Prem Poddar, Rajeev S. Patke and

Holocaust literature : a history and guide / David G. Roskies and Naomi Diamant. --    Waltham, Mass. :   Brandeis University Press,   c2012. Bartle Library Stacks PN56.H55 R67 2012

The Routledge companion to experimental literature / edited by Joe Bray, Alison Gibbons and Brian McHale. --    Abingdon, Oxon ;   New York :   Routledge,   2012. Bartle Library Stacks PN56.M54 R68 2012

The Oxford handbook of global modernisms / edited by Mark Wollaeger ; with Matt Eatough. --    New York :   Oxford University Press,   c2012.Bartle Library Stacks PN56.M54 O94 2012  

 

Electronic Books

A dictionary of literary terms literary theory J.A. Cuddon. 5th ed. / revised by M.A.R. Habib ; associate eds. Matthew Birchwood. Wiley-Blackwell, 2013. Note: On campus as well as off-campus: Please use your PODS User ID and password for authentication.

Analyzing literature-to-film adaptations a novelist’s exploration and guide   [electronic resource]  / Mary H. Snyder. New York : Continuum, 2011.

Re-examining the holocaust through literature [electronic resource] / edited by Aukje Kluge and Benn E. Williams. Newcastle upon Tyne, UK : Cambridge Scholars Pub., 2009.

The Greenwood encyclopedia of folktales and fairy tales [electronic resource] / edited by Donald Haase. Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2008.

Concise encyclopedia of languages of the world [electronic resource] / coordinating editor, Keith Brown ; co-editor Sarah Ogilvie. Amsterdam, NL : Elsevier, 2009.

 

InterLibrary Loan

InterLibrary Loan   BU doesn't own it? No problem, we'll get it for you! Books and articles can be obtained via BU Libraries' automated Interlibrary Loan Service, called ILLIAD.  Please allow delivery time-- books can take up to four weeks, depending on the source. Articles are usually delivered electronically to your computer within several days.