Subject Guides

HIST484P/567N/AAAS484G: China's Borderlands

Guide Contents

Bibliography of Asian Studies
Contains records on all subjects (especially in the humanities and the social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Includes such topics as world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955; and 350 of them in full text.

New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
Washington Post, 1877-2006 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Historical coverage of the paper covering US political, capitol and national news. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Titles search.

Britannica Online
Encyclopedia Britannica Online includes the complete encyclopedia, Merriam-Webster's Collegiate Dictionary and Thesaurus, Britannica Year in Review, World Atlas and an Internet Guide.

Duxiu (读秀)
Duxiu, known as Chinese Google Scholar, is a platform for literature search and information discovery.
This one-stop retrieval model achieved a unified search and access to books, scholarly articles and variety of resources which including over 900 million fulltext pages, video clips, photos and documents. It can be used as a reference tool for discovering bibliographic information and getting a preview of fulltext.
China Online Journals （万方期刊在线）
Index of journal articles from China published journals.
The COJ provides indexing coverage of over 6,000 journals from China and full text to the Arts/Humanities subset. This subset has 587 journal titles with coverage from 1997 onwards.
Da Cheng Archival Database (大成故纸堆)
Comprehensive archival materials database related to Chinese history, literature, political science & etc. Includes Chinese rare books, books published during Republic period; periodicals published during Republic period, local gazetteers and history of Chinese Communist Party. Off campus access is available temporarily though ssl.binghamton.edu.

Tags: history