Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

AAAS219/LING283J Structure of Japanese: Reference [Japanese]

How to Read Geographical Names

How to Find the Meaning of Japanese Words

With Japanese Explanation

Nihon kokugo daijiten
日本国語大辞典

Tōkyō: Shōgakukan, Showa 47-51 [1972-1976], 10 v.
(Bartle Reference: PL675 .N46 1972b)

Kōjien
広辞苑

Tōkyō :Iwanami Shoten,1998. Dai 5-han.
(Bartle Reference: PL675.S5 1998)

Gendai yōgo no kiso chishiki
現代用語の基礎知識

Tōkyō: Jiyū Kokuminsha, 2003.
(Bartle Reference: PL684.G46 2003
PL684.G46 2003 suppl.1
PL684.G46 2003 suppl.2)

Chiezō Tōkyō :Asahi Shinbunsha, 2003
知恵蔵, 朝日新聞社, 2003.
(Bartle Reference: PL684.A83 2003)

Ōbunsha kogo jiten
旺文社古語辞典
Tōkyō :Ōbunsha,Shōwa 40 [1965](1968 printing).
(Bartle Reference: PL675.O28 1965)

With English Explanation

The Kodansha English-Japanese dictionary
講談社英和辞典
Tokyo: Kodansha,1977,c1969.
(Bartle Reference: PL679.N9 1977)

Basic Japanese-English dictionary =Kiso Nihongo gakushū jiten
基礎日本語学習辞典
Oxford; New York :Oxford University Press, 1989, c1986.
(Bartle Reference: PL679.B37 1989)

Collins Shubun English Japanese dictionary = Ko rin zu shū bun Ei-Wa jiten.
1st ed. [New York, N.Y.] :HarperCollins Publishers : Shubun International,1993(1994 printing)
(Bartle Reference: PL679.C64 1993)

Collins Shubun English Japanese dictionary =Ko rin zu shū bun Ei-Wa jiten
コリンズ秀文英和辞典
[New York, N.Y.] :HarperCollins Publishers: Shubun International,1993(1994 printing) 1st ed.
(Bartle Reference: PL679.C64 1993)

Kodansha's basic English-Japanese dictionary =Nichijō Nihongo bairingaru jiten
日常日本語バイリンガル辞典
Tōkyō :Kōdansha Intānashonaru,1999.
(Bartle Reference: PL679.M35 1999)

Kodansha's furigana English-Japanese dictionary: the essential dictionary for all students of Japanese
Japanese title in colophon: ふりがな英和辞典
Tōkyō :Kōdansha Intānashonaru,1996.
(Bartle Reference: PL679.K67 1996)

Kodansha's furigana Japanese-English dictionary: the essential dictionary for all students of Japanese
Tokyo; New York; London: Kodansha International, 1995.
(Bartle Reference: PL679.K672 1995)

Kodansha's romanized Japanese-English dictionary
Tokyo; New York: Kodansha International, 1993. 1st ed.
(Bartle Reference: PL679.V36 1993)

Merriam-Webster's Japanese-English learner's dictionary
Springfield, Mass.: Merriam-Webster, c1993.
(Bartle Reference: PL679.K38213 1993)

A Dictionary of Japanese and English idiomatic equivalents
Tokyo; New York: Kodansha International, 1968.
(Bartle Reference: PL679.D5 1968)

Ei-Wa rōmaji kanyōgo jiten =English Japanese romanized idiom dictionary
英・和・ローマ字慣用語辞典
Tōkyō :Gyōsei,Heisei 5 [1993]
(Bartle Reference: PL679.K83 1993)

How to Read Japanese Name

Japanese names: a comprehensive index by characters and readings
日本人名地名辞典
New York: John Weatherhill, 1972.
(Bartle Reference: CS3000.O6)

Jinmei yomikata jiten
人名よみかた辞典
Tōkyō :Nichigai Asoshiētsu :Hatsubaimoto Kinokuniya Shoten,1994. 2 v.
(Bartle Reference: CS3000.J56 1994)

How to Read Chinese Characters

Dai Kan-Wa jiten
大漢和辞典
Tōkyō :Daishūkan Shoten, Showa 50 [1980] 13 v.
(Bartle Stack: PL681.C5M6 1980)

How to Find Biographical Information

Asashi Nihon rekishi jinbutsu jiten
朝日日本歴史人物事典
Tōkyō: Asahi Shinbunsha, 1994.
(Bartle Reference: DS834.A83 1994)

Gendai Chūgoku jinmei jiten
現代中國人名辞典
Tōkyō :Kōnan Shoin,Shōwa 32 [1957].
(Bartle Reference: DS778.A1.G46 1957)

Inō isai jinbutsu jiten
異能異才人物事典
Tōkyō: Tōkyōdō Shuppan, 1996.
(Bartle: CT1834.I56 1996)

Shintei sakka, shōsetsuka jinmei jiten
新訂作家〮小説家人名事典
Tōkyō :Nichigai Asoshiētsu :Hatsubaimoto Kinokuniya Shoten, 2002.
(Bartle Reference: PL723.S5 2002)

Nihon Riku-Kaigun jinmei jiten
日本陸海軍人名辞典
Tōkyō :Fuyō Shobō Shuppan,1999.
(Bartle Reference: U54.J3F862 1999)