Subject Guides
AAAS219/LING283J Structure of Japanese: Japanese Arts & Culture
See Other Related Guides
Databases
- ARTstorDigital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. For assistance, contact Emily Creo.
- MIT Visualizing CulturesVisualizing Cultures was launched at MIT in 2002 to explore the potential of the Web for developing innovative image-driven scholarship and learning. The VC mission is to use new technology and hitherto inaccessible visual materials to reconstruct the past as people of the time visualized the world (or imagined it to be
Online resource
- Kabuki（歌舞伎）Japan's classical theater. A brief introduction in English.
- National Museum of Japanese History 国立歴史民俗博物館The museum is digitizing its primary documents and compiling bibliographies and a collection catalog;
mostly accessible without restriction. - Old Photographs of Japan 幕末明治期日本古写真画像データベース:The image database at the Nagasaki University Library is the largest collection of old photographs, approximately 7,000, taken all over Japan from the Bakumatsu through to the Meiji period.
Reference
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Clothing Through World History by Call Number: REF GT507 .G74 2008 v.1-3ISBN: 9780313336621v. 2 Clothing in Edo Japan
Traditional Culture
Chado the way of tea : a Japanese tea master's almanac by
Chado the Way of Tea: A Japanese Tea Master's Almanac is a translation of the Japanese classic Sado-saijiki, first published in 1960. Covering tea-related events in Japan throughout the year, Master Sasaki provides vignettes of festivals and formal occasions, and as well as the traditional contemplative poetry that is a part of the tea ceremony. Each chapter covers variations in the tea ceremony appropriate for a single month, including: Themes and sentiments--tea gatherings at night, under the moon, on snowy days, and many others. Special events--describing major tea festivals such as Hina-matsuri and yasurai-matsuri. Flowers with tea—a list of 250 flowers, divided by season with an explanation of how they are incorporated into the tea ceremony. Cakes--descriptions and ingredients of moist and dry cakes and toffees used in the tea ceremony. Meals for tea--the meal, kaiseki, accounts for almost a third of any formal tea ceremony. This section includes at least two proven menus for each month. Words--seasonal words, poetic names for utensils, and nature words used in the tea ceremony. The book also includes reproductions of almost 100 Japanese paintings produced by the famous tea practitioner Hara Sankei, with over 1,000 Japanese poems, and a glossary of over 500 specialized terms related to the tea ceremony.
ISBN: 9781462900367Publication Date: 2005
Traditional Theatre of Japan
- The Traditional Theatre of Japan: kyogen, noh, kabuki, and puppetryCall Number: Fine Arts Collection Stacks (PN2921 .H365 2006 )ISBN: 0773457984
Japanese No Dramas by
Japanese nõ theatre or the drama of 'perfected art' flourished in the fourteenth and fifteenth centuries largely through the genius of the dramatist Zeami. An intricate fusion of music, dance, mask, costume and language, the dramas address many subjects, but the idea of 'form' is more central than 'meaning' and their structure is always ritualized. Selected for their literary merit, the twenty-four plays in this volume dramatize such ideas as the relationship between men and the gods, brother and sister, parent and child, lover and beloved, and the power of greed and desire. Revered in Japan as a cultural treasure, the spiritual and sensuous beauty of these works has been a profound influence for English-speaking artists including W. B. Yeats, Ezra Pound and Benjamin Britten.
Call Number: Bartle Library Stacks (PL782.E5 T95 1992 )ISBN: 0140445390
