The HistoryMakers Digital Archives is the nation’s largest African American video oral history collection. A unique scholarly and educational resource for exploring African American history and culture, it consists of interviews highlighting the accomplishments of individual African Americans and African-American-led groups and movements.
Interviews were first conducted in 1993, and continue to the present. The archive continues to grow, so that queries saved today may have new results tomorrow based on new interviews added into the archive. Some people in the collection may be interviewed again, so that content for a particular person may grow as well. All of the appropriate metadata for the interviews is shown when you drill down to a particular person or a particular story
Includes films from the following suppliers: California Newsreel, Green Planet Films, Intelecom Learning, Davidson Films, PBS, and New Day Films, HBO Documentaries, First Run, FilmRise, MVD, Roadshow, 1091 Media, Strand Releasing, Music Box, A24, and Global Low ROI
** For mediated titles, submit a Title Request form.
Excluded collections: Samuel Goldwyn Films (selected titles left open per instructions), Transmission, AVON and Breaking Glass. See Find and Using Streaming Video for information.
Searchable full-text and page images from The Chicago Defender archive which was the leading African American news publication before World War I. With more than half of its circulation outside of its home base in Chicago, the Defender covered many significant events in American history that received only cursory attention from other newspapers. Also searchable through the Black Studies Center database.
During World War I, the Defender successfully urged African-Americans to leave the segregated South to work in the industrial North. It covered the Red Summer Riots of 1919, editorialized for anti-lynching legislation, and published Walter White and Langston Hughes, as well as early works of Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Gwendolyn Brooks.
Searchable full-text and page images from the Chicago Tribune archive, Provided in-depth coverage during the Civil War period and includes many special editions such as the Lincoln Centenary Issue. Delivers cover-to-cover full-images in PDF and searchable ASCII text.
Queen Victoria was the longest serving British monarch, reigning as Queen from 1837 to 1901 and as Empress of India from 1876. In total 141 volumes of her journal survive, numbering approximately 45,000 pages. Trial ends January 2, 2022. Please send feedback to Ben Andrus