Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Contains digital facsimiles of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
EEBO is an excellent source for texts on early modern warfare, a search on "Art of War" returns several books, but you can also find books on specific aspects of war: strategy, training, fortifications, etc.
ECCO essentially picks up where EEBO leaves off. Over 180,000 full-text books based on the English Short Title Catalogue. Includes over 33 million full-text searchable images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Although primarily in English, the database also includes many items published in other European languages.
One of the nice features of this database is your ability to refine searches using subject headings. This makes it easier to find works on specific subjects, but also by conflicts - e.g. the War of the Spanish Succession, the War of the Austrian Succession. This enables you to limit your search to contemporary/primary sources books, letters, documents, etc. for specific conflicts.
Includes over 33 million full-text searchable images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Although primarily in English, the database also includes many items published in other European languages.
Digital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Includes access to the Shared Shelf resource.
For more detailed information about ARTstor's collections, see What's in ARTstor. Note: This resource will return the number of hits if it is fewer than 200. Otherwise, it will report 'Hits were found'. In either case, a link to results is provided.