Public Administration Journals

Journals that are listed in the DPA Handbook.

How do I use this chart?

This chart provides the Principal Journals as identified by the Public Administration Department at Binghamton University in their Handbook and cross lists it with:

  • links to the Libraries' holdings for full-text coverage and print holdings (if available)
  • names of the databases that the Libraries' provides access to that provide indexing of the articles that may extend beyond what full-text (print or electronic) holdings are available.    We can obtain the full text of these articles through InterLibrary Loan. 

Indexing information for this chart was gathered using Ulrichsweb .

Useful tools

Principal journals

PRINCIPAL JOURNALS
To go to the journal availability and search for articles
within a specific journal.
Database availability - allow you to search across multiple titles at once. 
Academy of Management Journal Business Source Ultimate  - Ebsco (full coverage)
Academy of Management Review Business Source Ultimate - Ebsco (full coverage)
Administration & Society

Business Source Ultimate (1974-present, core articles)

Sage Journals (full coverage)

Administration in Social Work (continued by Human Service Organizations Management, Leadership & Governance in 2014)

Sociology Source Ultimate - Ebsco  (2007-present, select articles)

Public Administration Abstracts  - Ebsco (1974-2007)

Administrative Science Quarterly  Business Source Ultimate - Ebsco (full coverage)
Sociology Source Ultimate - Ebsco  (full coverage)
Administrative Science Theory & Praxis Business Source Ultimate  - Ebsco (2009-present)
​JSTOR (1993-2012)
American Review of Public Administration  Public Administration Abstracts - Ebsco (1981-present)
Sage Journals (1967-present)
Annals of the American Academy of Political and Social Science

Political Science Complete (full coverage)

Human Service Organizations Management, Leadership & Governance

Sociology Source Ultimate  - Ebsco (2014 -present)

Public Administration Abstracts - Ebsco (1977-1997)

International Journal of Public Administration Public Administration Abstracts -Ebsco (1997-present)
International Public Management Journal 

Public Administration Abstracts - Ebsco (2002-present)

Journal of Policy Analysis and Management

Business Source Ultimate - Ebsco (1981-present)

Public Administration Abstracts - Ebsco (2002-present)

Journal of Public Administration Research and Theory

Public Administration Abstracts - Ebsco (1991-present)
JSTOR (1991-2013)
Journal of Public Management and Social Policy Journal Website (1995-present)
Journal of Public Policy  (0143-814X) Political Science Complete - Ebsco (1982 - present)
Nonprofit and Voluntary Sector Quarterly

Social Sciences with Full Text - Ebsco (2003-present)

Nonprofit Management and Leadership Business Source Ultimate - Ebsco (1981-present)
Policy Sciences (0032-2687)  Political Science Complete - Ebsco (1970-present)
Policy Studies Journal (0190-292X) Political Science Complete - Ebsco (1972 - present)
Policy Studies Review (continued by Review of Policy Research in 2003)  BSC, WPSA
Public Administration and Development BSC
Public Administration Review PAA, PAIS, WPSA, BSC

Public Budgeting and Finance

PAA, BSC
Public Performance and Management Review   

Public Productivity and Management Review (continued by Public Performance and Management Review in 2001)

PAA, BSC, PAIS
Publius PAA, ASC, BSC, WPSA
Review of Policy Research BSC, ASC, WOS
Review of Public Personnel Administration PAA, WOS, BSC
Urban Affairs Quarterly (continued by Urban Affairs Review in 1996)  
Urban Affairs Review PAIS (1974-2004), ASC
Voluntas ASC, SSA, WWPA