Library Resources for NYS Residents: Home

Describes how non-BU community members can gain access to research databases.

SUNY schools

SUNY Libraries will generally allow the use of materials, print and electronic, on-site to the public. Before you go, be sure to check with the library in question for any specific policies & procedures. 

Public libraries

  • Most public libraries offer some databases and electronic journals, although some in NYS maybe limited to the NYS Novel collection. 
     
  • In order to check out books or access electronic resources from home, you have to have card for that library or library system.
     
  • Some public libraries may also allow you to obtain items through Inter-Library Loan,  Check with your local branch for policies and procedures.
     
  • To find your local public library, see NOVELNY: Public Libraries in NYS

Binghamton University Libraries

The B.U. Libraries' library catalog, its digital collections as well as much of the information on the website is made freely available.   

All databases can be found under the Databases link on the website. Database marked   are restricted to current BU students, employees and faculty. Alumni, guest, volunteer and community users are not given access to subscribed library resources from off-campus.   The Libraries' Subject Guides provides additional resources, many which are freely available.

Community members and alumni can access any BU-only resources by coming into one of the Libraries and asking for Guest Computer Access.

See the appropriate page under Library Services for more information. 

New York State Library

NYSL makes its catalogbibliographies, and NYSL Digital Collections available to anyone.    In addition, the NOVELNY databases are available to anyone with a NYS Drivers License or NYS Photo ID number.

With a NYSL card, users also can search their electronic databases, which are available by subject at Databases, Indexes and Reference Sources or Databases by Name.

NYSL offers two library cards:

  • NYSL R Card -  New York State Library Resident Borrowers' card.  All residents of NYS, 18 years and older, are eligible for a NYS Library R card.  Please see New York State Residents for instructions. 
     
  • NYSL P Card -  New York State Library Borrower's card.   Government employees of NYS (current employees or retired), attorneys and physicians in NYS, and NYS municipal employees are eligible for a NYS Library P Card.  Please see NYS Library's Borrower Card for instructions.

 NYSL P Card holders also have access to electronic journals and books.

New York Public Library

All NYS residents are eligible for a NYPL library card.   Although you can apply for the card online, you will have to present the card to one of the NYPL system libraries' in person before accessing their databases from off-site. 

For a list of databases available at NYPL, please see Articles & Databases.  Once your card is fully active, you will be able to search all databases with aNYPL house  icon from home.     Resources marked with NYPLglobe, as well as all resources in the NYPL Digital Gallery, are available to anyone, even without a NYPL card. 

Subject Librarian

Research Assistance
JavaScript disabled or chat unavailable. Please send an email to refquest@binghamton.edu instead.
Contact:
607-205-8173 (Text Reference)
607-777-2345 (Phone)
refquest@binghamton.edu (Email)
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Other Resources:

  • NY Heritage - browse digital collections from libraries across NY
     
  • WorldCat - locate items in libraries worldwide
     
  • Google Scholar - search for articles, books, and thesis