This is the "General" page of the "Middle Eastern & North African Studies" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Middle Eastern & North African Studies   Tags: islam, islamic, middle_east, near_east, north_africa  

Resources for the study of the Middle East and North Africa.
Last Updated: Dec 16, 2014 URL: http://libraryguides.binghamton.edu/mena Print Guide RSS UpdatesEmail Alerts

General Print Page
  Search: 
 

BU Libraries Arabic Language Collection

Books in the Arabic vernacular/ script are located in the Arabic Collection on the 2nd Floor of the Bartle Library.

Books in the Persian language are located in the Persian Collection on the 2nd Floor of the Bartle Library.

Clic HERE for floor plan and location.

 

Web Portals for Middle Eastern & North African Studies

  • Voice of the Shuttle Middle East Studies page (Univ of Calif Santa Barbara). An index to academic, scholarly websites in Middle Eastern studies. The full Voice of the Shuttle websites has separate pages for all humanities disciplines.

  • WWW-Virtual Library Middle East Studies page (European University Institute, Florence). An index to academic, scholarly websites in History. Links to pages on individual countries in the Middle East and North Africa.

Bibliographic Databases

  • Historical Abstracts
    Historical Abstracts covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present. Coverage: 1955 to present.
  • Periodicals Index Online
    PIO is an electronic index to millions of articles published in over 3935 periodicals in the humanities and social sciences. Includes journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages. Currently indexes around 13 million articles since the seventeenth century and every article in each journal is indexed.
  • Anthropology Plus  
      
      Icon
    Indexed materials focus on topics of anthropology, archaeology, and related disciplines.
  • HRAF World Cultures (Electronic version)  
      
    Unique cross-cultural database containing more than a quarter of a million pages of descriptive information on the cultures of the world. Includes the full text of ethnographic books, journal articles and other materials that are indexed by culture and su
  • PAIS International with Archive
    - contains references to journal articles, books, government documents, and wide variety of other literature covering a broad area of policy, political science and public administration.

Full-Text Book Databases

  • Hathi Trust
    Hathi Trust is a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. Digitized materials from member institutions and libraries are freely available to the public for items not under copyright restrictions (essentially pre-1923). Accessibility and downloading functionality is not as broad as in other digital databases subscribed to by the Libraries.
  • Google Books
    Google Books is a partnership project that provides access to digitized material. It may include digitized copies of texts no longer under copyright or for which the author has provided some level of open-access to the public.
  • Early English Books Online (EEBO)
    Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
  • Eighteenth Century Collections Online
    A database consisting of over 180,000 titles (200,000 volumes) based on the English Short Title Catalogue. It includes over 33 million full-text searchable images of books, pamphlets, essays, broadsides and more published in the UK during the 18th century plus thousands from elsewhere. Although primarily in English, the database also includes many items published in other European languages.
  • The Making of America (Cornell University holdings)
    A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Coverage: 19th century.
  • The Making of America (University of Michigan holdings)
    A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction. Includes subject areas of education, psychology, American history, sociology, religion, and science and technology. Coverage: 19th century.
  • Digital Public Library of America
    The Digital Public Library of America brings together the riches of America’s libraries, archives, and museums, and makes them freely available to the world. It strives to contain the full breadth of human expression, from the written word, to works of art and culture, to records of America’s heritage, to the efforts and data of science. DPLA aims to expand this crucial realm of openly available materials, and make those riches more easily discovered and more widely usable and used. United States and world content coverage.

Director of Collections

Profile Image
Ed Shephard
Contact Info
Bartle Library LNG-2307
607-777-2493
Send Email
 
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip