- DLIST: Digital Library of Information Science and Technology
Established in 2002, DLIST, Digital Library of Information Science and Technology is a cross-institutional, subject-based, open access digital archive for the Information Sciences, including Archives and Records Management, Library and Information Science.
- E-LIS: E-prints in Library and Information Science
E-LIS , the international open archive for LIS. was formed in 2003 for the deposit of documents in the Library and Information Science (LIS) domain. It is the first international e-server in this subject area.
- LINK: Library Instruction Knapsack
Library Instruction Knapsack (LINK) is a digital repository of learning objects to support academic librarians in their instructional role.
These mega-sites provide links to hundreds of other resources.
BUBL began as a service for librarians but "whilst a specialist service is still provided to the UK's library and information science community, the service has for some time been aimed towards the UK higher education academic and research community more
- Librarians and Library Science
An ever-evolving index of useful and/or entertaining resources for/about librarians from About.com.
- Internet Library for Librarians
A Portal Designed for Librarians to Locate Internet Resources Related to Their Profession
Professional library journals, book industry news, book reviews,
bestseller lists, and so forth.
Links to more than 300 Electronic and Print Journals related to Library and Information Science available through Binghamton University Libraries.
- Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (LISTA)
Indexes publications in library and information science and technology.
Includes timely book industry news, features, reviews, original fiction, guides to literary events, author interviews, thousands of annotated links to book-related sites, and more.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB): Library and Information Science
The Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) has a number of tiles in the Library and Information Science category include some IFLA publications.
- Theoretical Foundations for Digital Libraries: The 5S (Societies, Scenarios, Spaces, Structures, Streams) Approach
Much of the early work in the digital library field struck a balance between addressing real-world needs, integrating methods from related areas, and advancing an ever-expanding research agenda. Our work has fit in with these trends, but simultaneously has been driven by a desire to provide a firm conceptual and formal basis for the field. Our aim has been to move from engineering to science. We claim that our 5S (Societies, Scenarios, Spaces, Structures, Streams) framework, discussed in publications dating back to at least 1998, provides a suitable basis. This book introduces 5S, and the key theoretical and formal aspects of the 5S framework.
- B.U. LIbraries News and Events
Blogs and news about Binghamton University Libraries.
- Federated Search Blog
This blog exists to serve the federated search industry. This Sol Lederman includes vendors, customers, and potential customers. Includes guest blogs from people such as Carl Grant, President of Ex Libris North America,
- Library of Congress Blog
- OCLC Blogs
Want to know what’s on the minds of some of OCLC’s most inquisitive team members? Then make it a habit to visit OCLC’s official blogs—you can even join the conversation by posting your own comments.
- Planet Cataloging
Planet Cataloging is an automatically-generated aggregation of blogs related to cataloging and metadata designed and maintained by Jennifer Lang and Kevin S. Clarke.
- Planet Code4Lib
Blogs and feeds of interest to the Code4Lib community, aggregated.
- ALA News
News from the American Library Association
- Copyright Website
This site endeavors to provide real world, practical and relevant copyright information, to encourage discourse and invite solutions to the myriad copyright tangles that currently permeate the Web.
- ALA Jobseeking site
In an effort to assist librarians and library workers find employment, ALA and its units list available positions in a variety of formats.
- ALA-accredited master's programs in library and information studies
The directory, available in four unique formats, provides information about library and information studies programs that are accredited by the American Library Association (ALA). At last count, there were 62 accredit schools.
- Carterette Series Webinars
The Carterette Series is a bi-monthly educational webinar series from the Georgia Library Association and the Georgia Public Library Service that highlights trends, innovation, and best practices in libraries The free sessions are open to interested parties from all geographic (and astral) locations.
- Chronicle Jobs: Librarians/ library administration
A direct link to the Chronicle of Higher Education Jobs for Librarians/ library administration.
- Chronicle Jobs: Library/information science
Direct link to Library/information sciences section of the Chronicle of Higher Education job posting site.
- INALJ (I Need a Library Job)
"The impetus behind INALJ (I Need a Library Job) was creating a jobs resource of all the library and information professional jobs we could find and distributing them to as many people as possible. To this end it is mostly the INALJ Daily Digest that is the reason for INALJ, the reason for our success and the reason for the successes of so many librarians and other info pros that have found jobs! So when I am asked what INALJ is I can answer, INALJ is JOBS! "
The alphabet soup of librarianship.
- ACRL: Association of College and Research Libraries
The Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL), a division of the American Library Association, is a professional association of academic librarians and other interested individuals.
- ALA: The American Library Association
The ALA Constitution states the purpose of ALA as, “The object of the American Library Association shall be to promote library service and librarianship.”
- ARL: Association of Research Libraries
ARL is a nonprofit organization of 123 research libraries at comprehensive, research-extensive institutions in the US and Canada that share similar research missions, aspirations, and achievements.
- ARLIS/NA: Art Libraries Society of North America
ARLIS/NA is a dynamic organization of over 1,000 individuals devoted to fostering excellence in art and design librarianship and image management.
- ASI: The American Society for Indexing
ASI is the only professional organization in the United States devoted solely to the advancement of indexing, abstracting, and database building.
- ASIS&T: American Society for Information Science and Technology
The Information Society for the Information Age.
- CNI: The Coalition for Networked Information
The Coalition for Networked Information (CNI) is an organization dedicated to supporting the transformative promise of networked information technology for the advancement of scholarly communication and the enrichment of intellectual productivity.
Inspired in part by the social dynamics of distributed open source projects, Code4Lib is an informal online social and professional network of library technologists, embodying values of transparency, cooperation, and pragmatic problem solving.
A nonprofit association whose mission is to advance higher education by promoting the intelligent use of information technology.
- ELUNA: Ex Libris Users of North America
North American User Group for users of Ex Libris products.
- IFLA: International Federation of Library Associations
A worldwide, independent organization created to provide librarians around the world with a forum for exchanging ideas, promoting international cooperation, research and development in all fields of library activity.
- IGeLU: The International Group of Ex Libris Users
IGeLU provides an open and transparent organisation for users of all Ex Libris products.
- ISKO: International Society for Knowledge Organization
The premier international scholarly society devoted to the theory and practice of knowledge organization.
- LITA: Library & Information Technology Association
The Library and Information Technology Association is a coalition of members and staff joining together to carry forward LITA's mission and strategic initiatives through internal governance and wide spread representation.
- LLAMA: Library Leadership & Management Association
The mission of the Library Leadership and Management Association is to encourage and nurture current and future library leaders, and to develop and promote outstanding leadership and management practices.
- MLA: Music Library Association
MLA is the professional organization in the United States devoted to music librarianship and all aspects of music materials in libraries.
- NASIG: North American Serials Interest Group
The North American Serials Interest Group, Inc. (NASIG) is an independent organization that promotes communication and sharing of ideas among all members of the serials information chain - anyone working with or concerned about serial publications.
- NMC: The New Media Consortium
The New Media Consortium (NMC) is an international 501(c)3 not-for-profit consortium of nearly 300 learning-focused organizations dedicated to the exploration and use of new media and new technologies.
- NYLA: New York Library Assocation
The mission of the NYLA is to lead in the development, promotion and improvement of library and information services and the profession of librarianship in order to enhance learning, quality of life, and equal opportunity for all New Yorkers.
- SAA: Society of American Archivists
Serves the educational and informational needs of its members and provides leadership to help ensure the identification, preservation, and use of the nation's historical record.
- SLA: Special Libraries Association
The Special Libraries Association (SLA) is a nonprofit global organization for innovative information professionals and their strategic partners.
- SUNYLA: State University of New York Librarians Association
The SUNY Librarians' Association promotes the professional development and collaboration of library personnel across SUNY in order to advance library service(s) to our campuses and the people of New York State.
- VRA: Visual Resources Association
The Visual Resources Association is a multi-disciplinary organization dedicated to furthering research and education in the field of image management within the educational, cultural heritage, and commercial environments.
- Dolores' List of CFPs
This blog shares calls for papers and presentations in the disciplines of Library Science, Information Science, Instructional Design and Technology, Education, including Adult Education, and Women’s and Gender Studies.
- Information Today Conference Calendar
- Jinfo Events
Jinfo Events offers a central location for organisers to promote live and online events to help professionals advance their careers, network, and move to the next level.
- Librarians in the Movies
This filmography is an ongoing attempt to find a more comprehensive and defensible basis for our acceptance or rejection of the "typical movie librarian" -- whatever we think he or she is. It lists over 500 Hollywood (and a few foreign) productions that
- Quotations about Libraries and Librarians
Quotations about Libraries and Librarians from IFLA.
Unshelved, the library comic strip