How to locate ebooks and how to download them onto mobile devices.
- Alex Catalogue of Electronic Texts
A collection of public domain documents with a focus on American and English literature and Western Philosophy. Books are searchable through a search bar or can be browsed by author, title, or tag.
Online source for reference, poetry, fiction and nonfiction. Reference works contained include Bartlett’s Familiar Quotations, Gray’s Anatomy, World Factbook, and Strunk’s Elements of Style. Titles can be searched by those categories and indexes are provided by author, subject, and title.
Site includes over 2,000 free classics as well as reference books, biographies, and research works.
- Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB): Library and Information Science
1265 Academic peer-reviewed books from 35 publishers.
- Google Books
Works just like web search. If the book is out of copyright, or the publisher has given Google permission, you'll be able to see a preview of the book, and in some cases the entire text. If it's in the public domain, you're free to download a PDF copy.
- Hathitrust Digital Library
A partnership of major research institutions and libraries working to ensure that the cultural record is preserved and accessible long into the future. There are more than sixty partners in HathiTrust, and membership is open to institutions worldwide.
- International Children's Digital Library
A multicultural, multilingual digital collection of children's literature from around the world.
- Internet Archive: Ebook and Texts Archive
"The Internet Archive Text Archive contains a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books."
- Open Library
Books are available to read online, borrow (in eBook format), or purchase. Open Library is searchable by subject, author, or through a search bar. Classic literature titles are available for free in eBook format.
- Project Gutenberg
An archive of public domain books available in a variety of formats including plain text, PDF, HTML and EPUB. Books can be searched by author or title. An RSS feed is available for tracking site additions. An online and offline catalog is included.
- Science Books Online
Free science e-books, textbooks, lecture notes, monographs, and other science related documents. All texts are available for free reading online, or for downloading in various formats.
- UC Press E-Books Collection, 1982-2004
Contains almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics. All books are available to University of California students and staff, and over 500 titles are available to the public. Books can be browsed by author, title, or subject, or a search bar can be used.
- University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection
A growing library of books selected from the University of Michigan mathematics collection that have been digitized to improve access and to preserve the content of these books. All of the books in this collection were published in the 19th or early 20th century.
- University of Pittsburgh Press Digital Editions
Pittsburgh Press has made available hundreds of their out of print titles, free for download. To read, click on "Add to Bookbag," and then once viewing your bookbag, click on Download. All books download as .txt files.