Library Resources for Guests

SUNY Libraries will generally allow the use of both print and electronic materials on-site to the public. Before you go, be sure to check with the library for any specific policies and procedures.

Find a list of SUNY Libraries here.

Most public libraries offer some databases and electronic journals, although some in NYS may be limited to the NYS NOVEL Collection. 

In order to check out books or access electronic resources from home, you'll have to have an account with that library or library system.

Some public libraries may also allow you to obtain items through InterLibrary Loan. Check with your local branch for policies and procedures.

To find your local public library, see NOVELNY: Public Libraries in NYS.

All databases can be found under the Databases link on the website. Databases marked  are restricted to current BU students, employees, and faculty. Alumni, guest, volunteer, and community users are not given access to subscribed library resources from off-campus. The Libraries' Subject Guides provides additional resources, many of which are freely available.

Community members and alumni can access any BU-only resources by coming into one of the Libraries and asking for Guest Computer Access.

See the appropriate page under Library Services for more information.

NYSL makes its catalog, bibliographies, and NYSL Digital Collections available to anyone. In addition, the NOVELNY databases are available to anyone with a NYS Drivers License or NYS Photo ID number.

With a NYSL card, users also can search their electronic databases, which you can browse by subject or browse by name.

NYSL offers two library cards:

• NYSL R Card: New York State Library Resident Borrower's card
  All residents of NYS, 18 years and older, are eligible for a NYS Library R card.
• NYSL P Card: New York State Library Borrower's card
  Government employees of NYS (current employees or retired), attorneys and physicians in NYS, and NYS municipal employees are eligible for a NYSL P Card. P Card holders also have access to electronic journals and books. Find more information on searching for electronic resources here.

All NYS residents are eligible for a NYPL library card. Although you can apply for the card online, you will have to present the card to one of the NYPL system libraries' in person before accessing their databases from off-site.

• Library card: Terms and Conditions
• Library card: How to apply

For a list of databases available at NYPL, please see Articles & Databases. Once your card is fully active, you will be able to search all databases with a  icon from anywhere. Resources marked with , as well as all resources in the NYPL Digital Gallery, are available to anyone, even without a NYPL card.