Subject Guides

Japanese Studies

Guide Contents

Calendars and Chronology

日本史年表 = Nihon shi nenpyō
Call Number: Bartle Ref. -- DS833 .N547 2001
元号事典=Gengō jiten by Heisei gannen
Call Number: Bartle Ref. DS833.K39 1989
近代日本総合年表 = Kindai Nihon sōgō nenpyō
Call Number: Bartle Ref. -- DS881.9 .K566 2001

Dictionaries/Encyclopedias

Nihon kingendaishi jiten
日本近現代史辞典
Tōkyō :Tōyō Keizai Shinpōsha,1978.
(Main Reference: DS833.N542)

Nihon kin-gendaishi :bunken risāchi
日本近現代史: 文献リサ-チ
Tōkyō :Fuyō Shobō Shuppan,2000.
(Main Reference: DS881.9.N54 2000)

Nihon kin-gendaishi kenkyū jiten
日本近現代史研究事典
Tōkyō :Tōkyōdō Shuppan,1999.
(Main Reference: DS833.N544 1999)

Sekai sensō hanzai jiten =Encyclopedia of war crimes in modern history
世界戦争犯罪事典
Tōkyō :Bungei Shunjū,2002.
(Main Reference: K5250.S45 2002)

Ajia rekishi jiten
アジア歴史事典
Tōkyō: Heibonsha, 1959-1962.10 v.
(Main Reference: DS4.A37 1959)

Databases

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
Includes such topics as world history, military history, women's history, history of education, and more. The database indexes more than 1,700 academic historical journals in over 40 languages back to 1955; and 350 of them in full text.
ACLS Humanities E-Book
Collection of over 1400 full-text, cross searchable books covering topics of interest to historians and humanities scholars.
A collection selected by historians for their continuing importance to students and scholars. Areas include: African, American, Asian, Latin American, European (Ancient, Medieval, Renaissance, and Modern), Middle Eastern, World/Comparative, Byzantine/Mediterranean and Australasian/Oceanian history, plus history of the Native Peoples of the Americas and of Science and Technology.
JSTOR
Primarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
JSTOR has a "moving wall," which represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. Publishers determine the moving wall length in their license agreements with JSTOR. Moving walls may range from zero to ten years, and those with walls from zero to seven years participate in our revenue sharing program. In calculating the moving wall, the current, incomplete year is not counted.
Japan Year Books Online
Published from the beginning of the war with China right up to the outbreak of the Korean War (1931-1952), the Japan Year Books present Japan’s news and statistics throughout the period.