Subject Guides
HIST 380B/JUST 351: Jewish New York
For the Jewish New York Class, Fall 2019
Subject Librarian
Searching for Books
Need books? Check out our visual guide to searching for, locating, and checking out books.
Historical Statistics
- Social ExplorerProvides access to US decennial census data from 1790 to 2010, American Community Survey data and selected business, economic, crime, health, environmental and religious data. It does not include data for all census geographies, particularly for earlier decennial censuses. Users can customize, save, print, export and email reports and maps
Social Explorer includes U.S. Census data from 1790 to 2010, all annual updates from the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study from 1980 to 2000,
PolicyMap includes data on violent and non-violent crimes (listed under "Quality of Life"). For help getting started, see our PolicyMap Guide.
Secondary Sources - Books and Articles
- FindIt - The Library Catalog +Find It enables you to search for materials in the library (books, journals) as well as many of our subscription databases
- JSTORPrimarily a journal archive with some current content. If you are looking for current information, you may want to try other databases as well.
- America: History & Life with Full TextLiterature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. Indexes 1700 journals, provides full text of 200 titles.
Primary Sources
- Digital Sanborn Maps, 1867–1970These maps chart the growth and development of thousands of America towns and cities across a century. These are searchable by address and location. Tools allow for layering of maps across years and satellite images. Coverage: 1867-1970.
General News Sources
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)Full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. For more recent coverage, use our Journal Title search.
- Global NewsstreamIncludes national papers such as the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Chicago Tribune, and the Wall Street Journal. Also local and regional papers including the Press and Sun from Binghamton, the Ithaca Journal, and other Gannett publications. Coverage: 1980 - current
Jewish News Sources
- The American Jewess (1895-1899)The first English-language periodical targeted to American Jewish women, covering an evocative range of topics that ranged from women's place in the synagogue to whether women should ride bicycles.
- JTA (Jewish Telegraphic Agency) ArchiveThe digitized JTA archive starts with articles written in 1923.
Primary Sources on Microfilm
The following primary sources are only available on microfilm in the Newcomb Reading Room. If you need help finding or using any of these sources, just ask at the Reader Services desk in Newcomb.
- National Council of Jewish Women (1908-1917, 1925-1940)Minutes, 1908-1917, 1925-1940, miscellaneous reports, membership lists, newspaper articles, committee reports, correspondence, and annual reports.
- National Council of Jewish Women (1908-1987)Minutes of Board, executive budget, and various committees, and of general meetings, also newspaper clippings, 1908-1987
Other Collections, Digital and Otherwise
- The Jewish MuseumThe Jewish Museum has extensive digital collections. While international in scope, the Museum also has a concentration in New York material as it is based in NYC
Reference Items
- Encyclopedia of American Jewish HistoryCall Number: REF E184.J5 E48 2008Located in the Bartle Library Reference Collection (in the Information Commons)
- Encyclopedia of the Jewish Diaspora: Origins, Experiences, and CultureTo access this ebook, click on the title, then select the "View Online" tab, and finally click "Open source in a new window" at the top left.
- Encyclopaedia Judaica
This link opens in a new window
Provides an exhaustive and organized overview of Jewish life and knowledge from the Second Temple period to the contemporary State of Israel, from Rabbinic to modern Yiddish literature, from Kabbalah to "Americana" and from Zionism to the contribution of Jews to world cultures
